We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent education for all ages”
Review of The Raptor Center

The Raptor Center
Ranked #24 of 119 things to do in Saint Paul
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established in 1974 as part of the University of Minnesota College of Veterinary Medicine, The Raptor Center rehabilitates more than 700 sick and injured raptors each year, while helping to identify emerging environmental issues related to raptor health and populations. An internationally renowned education facility, The Raptor Center trains veterinary students and veterinarians from around the world to become future leaders in raptor medicine and conservation. In addition, The Raptor Center reaches more than 150,000 people annually through its unique public education programs and events. Come visit the education raptors with a TRC interpretive tour guide. Tours are offered every thirty minutes, on the half hour and hour. 10:30 a.m.-3:30 p.m., Tuesday-Friday 12:30 p.m.-3:30 p.m., Saturday and Sunday Tour Admissions Ages 3-17 $3.00 Ages 18-62 $5.00 Ages 62+ $3.00 U of M staff and students (with ID) are admitted free. Formal programs and other education options available.
East Bethel, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent education for all ages”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

My husband and I just visited The Raptor Center with our (3) young grandchildren. It was extremely interesting and educational for all of us (age 3 to age 66). What a unique opportunity
to learn about these majestic creatures (via close encounter). We look forward to many more
visits and to supporting the great work of the trainers and volunteers at TRC!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    11
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cary, IL
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Interesting and educational”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

They ask for a donation (so no fixed cost for the visit). Seems the tours are done by volunteers who are extremely knowledgeable. They have several bald eagles (injured and either being treated or unable to survive in the wild). We walked outside to see many other raptors they have in cages - *caution* the outside part can be a bit slippery with stairs. We spent about 1 hr visiting the center, which is part of the University of Minnesota.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank alj1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fun and educational ”
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

We went on a Sunday afternoon and in addiction to a tour paid $8 per person for one of the volunteers to take out 3 birds for some education and up close views. The volunteer was very knowledgable about the center and birds. The session was supposed to be 45 minutes but due to everyone's interest and questions lasted just over an hour. They had a good variety of birds available during our visit and definitely something we will go back to and continue to support their good work!

Helpful?
1 Thank nicolef872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Lake, Minnesota, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Something new every time!!”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

,___,
[O.o]
/)__)
-"--"- - - - - we go here whenever we can. The program is about an hour long and it's so informative and educational. So many different raptors to see ... falcons, owls, eagles and hawks!! Seems to keep the interest of most ages. Worth the trip! Lots of things to look at (eggs, wings, feathers, skulls) and the volunteers have always been very friendly.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JustBren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Educational and fun”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is a fun, and educational experience and a terrific place to see wild raptor. This building is perfect for the venue and kids leave with a long term smile.

Helpful?
1 Thank Havingalovelyday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Raptor Center also viewed

 

Been to The Raptor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing