We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lemon Cookies” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Finnish Bistro

Finnish Bistro
Ranked #77 of 877 Restaurants in Saint Paul
Cuisines: American, Cafe, European, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
58 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lemon Cookies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Try the lemon zest cookies. Coffee can be a wait but worth it for the cookies. You can browse Micawbers books with your coffee.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank robert w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    28
    9
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
91 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great salad and sandwich!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

We had the Groupon but we might go back without it! We got the house salad which was huge with fresh berries, apples, toasted walnuts, and delicious dressing. We also had the caprese sandwich which was awesome! 3 slices of tomatoes and 3 slices of mozzarella drizzled with balsamic vinegar and yummy pesto spread on the other side of the perfectly toasted bread was great! To finish it all off we had an amazing 7 layer bar! Yum!!! Breakfast items such as quiche and pancakes also look awesome!! The only problem is it is a pretty small place, you put in your order and then sit down. At noon on a Friday it was very busy in there, I would go mid morning or late afternoon to avoid a crowd.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EllenJoan2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pastries, Breakfasts and More”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Finnish Bistro offers a variety of wonderful pastries, cookies and cakes. I would also recommend stopping for brunch. The one thing I would warn against is Chilled Finnish Delight which consists of cream cheese, topped with chilled smoked salmon,capers, onions and dill. Although it sounds wonderful, the time I had this, it had way too many onions to the point where I had to thrown half away. But I've had the other breakfasts and they have all been wonderful. I've also went for lunch and enjoyed the flatbreads.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Molly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We came for breakfast. I enjoyed an egg scrambled with fresh veggies and wrapped in Lefse! Yes, lefse topped off with sour cream and a side of fresh salsa. Yummy! My husband had eggs with a polish type sausage, equally as good. We took bakery to go and all was divine. The space is small but quaint. It is an order at the counter and they bring it out. Worked fine for us. Dunn Bros. coffee is connected for your caffeine fix. They also have a beautiful outdoor space. We would like to enjoy that space when it's not raining. If you're looking for something fresh and with an interesting menu, you have got to try the Finnish Bristo!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pam988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
148 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Who would have thought....an unexpected treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

We were invited by friends to try this out. What a gem. Although you don't go for the atmosphere it has it's own charm. Very reasonable prices but better yet, great food and wonderful baked goods. The Kringler is just heavenly. My wife commented that the salmon rivaled that of more expensive restaurants. Our friends had the burger made from walnuts. Far better than one would expect. It was a joyful experience. Sandra the new owner spent some time with us giving us the background. It just goes to prove that a little extra attention goes a long way. All the staff was so helpful and supportive. They also had smiles and you could tell that they like to work here. This is our new go to restaurant. Oh, they have all day breakfast--/breakfast for dinner anyone? :-). Bravo.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Burgess H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Finnish Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Finnish Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing