We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have to try these burgers!”

Casper & Runyon's Nook
Ranked #3 of 889 Restaurants in Saint Paul
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“You have to try these burgers!”
Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

This place was great. I do not have one bad thing to say about my visit to The Nook. We were seated in the lower level which includes a bowling alley! The bartender was so nice and accommodating. His energy was great and really made you feel welcome. I ordered the "Paul Molitor", which is a Juicy Lucy or "Nookie", as they call it here, with pepper cheese instead of cheddar, and it was out of this world! I loved it. We also had the lucky opportunity to watch a woman take on the hot wing challenge. Very impressive I might add. She made it look like nothing. I recommend the Nook to anyone. My experience there was top notch.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stew78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    109
    22
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Breezy Point, Minnesota
Level Contributor
78 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great place, great food”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We decided to go to this place based upon a Diners, Drive-ins and Dives (Food Network show) episode we saw. We also like to hit places that you normally wouldn't go due to location. We visited mid-afternoon and found parking very easy and we were seated immediately. There is plenty of room and plentiful TVs showing various sporting events.
The menu is well priced and offers plenty that will appeal to most.
We ordered the Guy burger, EXCELLENT. I would also recommend the sweet potato fries, very tasty.
The service was attentive and genuine. Try this place out, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Triple b”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

I have been eating at the Nook for years... I've never had a burger better than the triple b. No joke the first time I ate at the Nook I ordered a triple b decimated it and immediately ordered another one. I wasn't hungry after the first one anymore but something in me couldn't wait for a second visit to eat that holy grail of burger perfection again. I'm not going to lie every time you go to the Nook it's busy and you almost always have to wait... It's worth it. I have a a secret trick up my sleeve for getting immediate seating at the Nook which I won't share because I don't want it to get ruined but I will say that if you explore a little you'll find it too. Service is always excellent. This has turned into my goto spot after a bad day at work. Between the comfort of the delicious burger a cold beer and the really friendly and personable staff the Nook has turned many a frown upside down on this dude...

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Please don't come here”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

It's already too crowded. As Yogi Berra said about some place, "Nobody goes there anymore; it's too crowded."

Tap beer tastes better in this place for some reason.

My biggest regret is that my fave - the Patty Melt Burger - isn't nearly as good as it was a few years ago. I think it's a different rye bread. Please go back to the old bread.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GManPackerFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best burger and fries!”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

OMG...Best juicy-Lucy burger and fries in the Twin Cities!!! This is a place I could eat every week, it's just that good!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SandSurf_and_Sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casper & Runyon's Nook also viewed

 

Been to Casper & Runyon's Nook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing