We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Nook, simply awesome!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casper & Runyon's Nook

Casper & Runyon's Nook
Ranked #4 of 876 Restaurants in Saint Paul
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
131 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“The Nook, simply awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Short & simple review here. Casper & Runyon's The Nook in St. Paul, MN is definitely the place to go if you want either the best burger or wings in town! They are highly praised for their menu and their staff is great!

Only one downside to The Nook, it is TINY and ALWAYS packed! So if you plan on going you have to be prepared to wait a bit for a table but it is worth it. If you don't like waiting then head on down to their sister location a few miles away on 7th Street called Shamrock's. Basically the same menu but a much bigger venue.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JskinnyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    104
    22
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Racine, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
67 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Really tasty burgers, atmosphere was ok”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Overall, their burgers are really tasty and I felt that the prices were reasonable considering the freshness and originality of their burgers. I got the Juicy Nookie and my Husband got the Big Bite, both of which we were extremely happy with. The fries were pretty good as well.

The general atmosphere (visually) was pleasant and definitely fit the "nook" name - I found it to be cute and part of the charm. The service, although not negative at all, could be refined to make it more of an experience. Our waitress was prettty prompt and friendly, but some of the other servers were slightly standoffish in general when we first got in and towards their tables around us.

Overall, the place has great burgers, it is simple and tasty food at decent prices and we'd definitely go back to try a different burger. I think if the servers were a bit more engaging, it would hands down be "excellent" in my book.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank April J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
114 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The burgers are out of this world.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

All the superlatives out there are accurate when describing burgers at the Nook. They are the real deal and delicious. If you're going for the first time just get one of the Jucy Lucy style burgers so you know what the place is all about. I had the Paul Molitor and it was delicious.
The location is small and the lines can be long but it is worth the wait. There's nothing fancy about the place and don't expect white table clothes and linen. The staff is efficient and friendly but not hovering over you. In the end, it's a bar that makes killer burgers but sometimes that is all you want.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PassTravelF00l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
113 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“The Nook - Saint Paul, MN”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

My wife and I had lunch at the Nook on Sunday (2 September, 2012). There are many Saint Paul restaurants and bars that both my wife and I love to recommend... Sadly to say, The Nook will not be one of them. The service was a bit above average, the food only average, and the prices were higher than the food deserved. My wife, on more than one occasion, spotted Nook Staff Members, engaging in not so sanitary serving practices (touching drink straws, fingering food)... The Nook is an iconic institution of Saint Paul, I would much rather write a positive review; however, we will not likely return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
158 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Not my favorite”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Based on trip advisor reviews, we had dinner here. It's a very busy place, but my family found the food to be just ok. We did try the juicy lucy burgers, but again we felt they were only ok. Not sure that we would return, but in fairness we don't eat many burgers in our family and that is their specialty.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank gbfamily4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casper & Runyon's Nook also viewed

 

Been to Casper & Runyon's Nook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing