We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Vietnamese Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mai Village - CLOSED

Mai Village
Price range: $1 - $25
Cuisines: Vietnamese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Vietnamese Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

I recommend the Chicken Almond Ding and Shrimp Fried Rice, but everything is delicious and easy to share family style.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    18
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“Beautiful restaurant unfortunately poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

This is one of the few Asian restaurant that has outdoor sitting which is the advantage because there are not too many Asian restaurants with outdoor sitting. I eat out a lot and love all Asian food and with the limited choices of outdoor sitting, I went to Mai Village. Service was bad followed by salty and poor quality dishes. This was dish that I have often. It could just be an off day for the server and cook but I have not return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kouvangx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardsville, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food and Ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Looking for some Vietnamese food, we were directed towards Mai Village, and it is a winner. The suroundings are elegant, they have a pond well stocked with Koi that you cross a bridge over, to enter the main dining area. The surroundings are soothing, it was quiet ( I HATE noisy dining rooms) and the food, well, that was a definite highlight. I chose the signature dish, the 7 courses of beef. If you like beef, and you can handle seven courses, it's a winner! The service was excellent, just the right speed. Prices are very reasonable, and looking at the menu, I saw several more entrees I am eager to try. Needless to say, we'll be back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GroomLeader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frontenac
Level Contributor
41 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Vietnamese food in elegant surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We returned to Mai Village with a party of 6 and were delighted by what we found. A round table was reserved within ear-shot of the fountain. The food was excellent---carefully prepared, fresh ingredients, lots of choices. Our young server needed some prompting, but accepted it graciously. Don't come here if you're in a rush. This is a place to savor good food, good company and the pleasure of a quieter, more elegant era. Plus there's a spacious parking lot in back. We'll return soon when we need to be soothed and well-fed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TedT9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

I've only been to Mai Village once but the food was really good and so was the service. The servers were very accommodating and our food arrived quickly. There's a lot of variety on the menu with many meat-based and vegetarian dishes and varying levels of spiciness. They even have a koi pond to entertain the children!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mai Village also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing