We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and delicious”
Review of Mai Village - CLOSED

Mai Village
Price range: $1 - $25
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Elegant and delicious”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

So many choices!!! The waiters are very knowledgeable about the descriptions of the menu....the food is delicious! We've enjoyed the meals every time we've gone!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank FiammaMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    18
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mai Village is the best for Vietnamese food with ambience!”
Reviewed May 6, 2012

I have eaten several times at Mai Village. Most recently ordered spring rolls and hot and spicy chicken. It was wonderful. We will go again for sure

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Deborah007_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good food and great ambience!”
Reviewed December 26, 2011

The food is good and the decor is beautiful. It is definitely an attempt to make diners feel like they are in the far east, but with paper laterns!! Lunch is just the right amount and is fast!!

Helpful?
Thank Wendy1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We went for lunch to celebrate my father in laws birthday, he and his wife had been there and wanted to share the experience with us. The atmosphere was really great, nice touches everywhere you look. The bridged Koi pond was fantastic! I'm not too adventurous with trying new Asian foods, but I tried a little something from everyones plate and loved it! Prices were reasonable, and helpings plentiful. My husband and I will be taking the teenagers soon!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Highway61Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrible service overshadows the wonderful food”
Reviewed October 19, 2011

We have dined at Mai Village several times; however, after our last experience, we will not return. The food is usually great. The decor was nice when it opened but it is getting run down. The upholstery fabric is torn and tattered. I am surprised that the establishment is so empty on Friday and Saturday nights.

This is a family owned business and our waitress, Kathy, is a member of the family. She was very rude and very disrespectful. She was really put out that she had to serve us and it was obvious that we were taking up her time. We ordered an appetizer and two entrees. One of the entrees was cold. We wanted chop sticks but Kathy was nowhere to be found. I got up and got them myself.

There are many Asian restaurants on University Avenue to choose from. We are so disappointed that we spent $85 at a restaurant where we were treated so badly. Skip this restaurant and walk down the street where you will be treated much better.

PS - We gave the establishment an opportunity to respond to our displeasure but without any response

PPS. The bridge and koi were cute.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mai Village also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing