We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful local coffee place”
Review of Groundswell Coffee

Groundswell Coffee
Ranked #3 of 27 Coffee & Tea in Saint Paul
Price range: $6 - $13
Restaurant details
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Wonderful local coffee place”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

My friend and I both love neighborhood coffee shops so wanted to try Groundswell this weekend. I ordered the brunch hot dish of asparagus, potatoes, wild rice, eggs and tomato sauce. My friend had the quiche of the day. Both came with a refreshing salad dressed with a light splash of vinaigrette. Both mains were delicious and just the right portion size. We enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and cheerful service when ordering. The only negative was the rather slow service.
Groundswell seems to attract families, singles, friends, couples...a nice mix of customers as the offerings appeal to everyone. The bakery goods (cupcakes, large "Minnesota" cookies and other treats) looked tasty and fresh, but alas, we had no room for dessert. Next time!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    12
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best veggie burger in town”
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

Flatbread pizza, caprese grilled cheese were both great too but the veggie burger was fantastic

Coleslaw was really good too but extremely spicy. Beware !

Make sure to try the desserts. Portions aren't too big so works out great!

We' ll be back.

Helpful?
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Went to Groundswell with my wife, son, daughter-in-law and grandson. We had the tacos, meatloaf sandwich and quiche. All were super and well presented. The servings are not huge, which we like. I would recommend Groundswell to anyone looking for an extremely friendly local restaurant.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great coffee and food”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Neighborhood gem, with focus on locally sourced, organic foods. Best latte I've ever had, excellent pastries and good foods. There are vegetarian and gluten-free items on the menu.The staff is friendly, atmosphere comfortable and roomy. Unlike some other coffee places, the noise level is low enough so you can actually hear others at your table! Local artists have a display area with interesting jewelry, pottery, etc.
Prices higher than the usual coffee shop, but the quality of food, coffee and atmosphere is also higher. Great place to meet friends for a low-key meal or coffee and a treat (don't skip the treat!).

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
“Great Minnesota local with Southern flavor”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Groundswell is a hopping neighborhood cafe that serves great coffee, local beer and wine, a consistently excellent brunch (my husband swears by the biscuits and gravy, and my son loves the cornmeal waffles), and the best gluten-free baked goods I've eaten (and I eat them often: the lemon blackberry muffins in the summer season and the chamomile blueberry muffins in the winter). Very family/kid friendly, and a great place to meet friends and neighbors for drinks.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KristinaKathleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Groundswell Coffee also viewed

 

Been to Groundswell Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing