We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice surprise!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dunn Bros - Northwest Opticians

Dunn Bros - Northwest Opticians
Ranked #6 of 66 Coffee & Tea in Saint Paul
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
176 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Very nice surprise!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

This coffee is really very good and open on the weekends which the nearby Starbucks is not! The coffee options are many and I admit I wouldn't have gone there had Starbucks been open. But it was closed !!! on the weekend! So Dun Bros won my heart!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank MurJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    13
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
105 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Always excellent coffee!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Great selection of pastries and snacks as well as fabulous coffee. Staff always happy to help you select the right coffee blend for your taste

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank DebsHornby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester MN
Level Contributor
109 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Fine coffee, ambience not so much”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

First, thank goodness this coffee shop is open on Saturdays -- otherwise, downtown St Paul seems like a wasteland. So we appreciated the good coffee. Otherwise, though, it lacks the feel of a real coffeehouse.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank bookerRochesterMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
256 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 501 helpful votes
“adequate coffee shop”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

I went in here for some coffee and breakfast. It was average, but I didn't find anything special. The staff was friendly enough, but it did take a long time to get my breakfast sandwich. But they had no complaints about customers lingering while reading the paper. I try to avoid the big national chain coffee chain, so this met my needs.

It's sort of interesting how they share space with an optician (who was not open), not an expected combination. I did go back a day later to get a sandwich for dinner, but found nothing appealing on the menu so I found a sub shop a few blocks away.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ral338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walker, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Coffee Shop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

I enjoyed sitting by the fireplace, reading the morning paper, and talking with the locals. I ducked in during a rain shower, and the staff were very kind.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dunn Bros - Northwest Opticians also viewed

South Saint Paul, MN
Saint Paul, MN
 

Been to Dunn Bros - Northwest Opticians? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing