We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Beautiful Breakfast”
Review of Capital View Cafe

Capital View Cafe
Ranked #33 of 895 Restaurants in Saint Paul
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $10
Cuisines: American, Mexican, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: Capital View Cafe is a family owned business since 1993. We serve breakfast and lunch that is made to order fresh from the grill. We offer american and mexican food that is made from homemade recipes and sauces that will keep you coming back for more. We offer Catering for all of your special events. We invite you to come and visit our Cafe, friendly staff and down home good food.
West Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Big Beautiful Breakfast”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

This is for sure THE BEST restaurant in St. Paul! I suggest everyone try it out it is a great restaurant for family, business or even couples. They serve Mexican and American food so you have a wide variety of food to choose from. And me myself am a picky eater so truly anyone can eat here. Also the staff is very on top of it and wonderful service! Also the staff is always cheerful and ready to get to work right when you walk in the door! they also cater so if you ever need so food for a get together you know who to call.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kayla R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    25
    8
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bemidji
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Cajun breakfast!”
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

One of my favorite places for breakfast when I'm in good old St. Paul! The service and food are always consistently very good. The restaurant is bright, colorful, super clean, and wonderful place to enjoy a steamy cup of joe with the paper! They make tasty homemade cinnamon rolls as well, but do yourself a favor and have the Cajun breakfast, it is a plate full of spicy yum!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“glad to see changes have been made”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I probably started going to the Capitol view in the 90's, and enjoyed the fresh flavorful food. It was smaller and crowded then--you could see them making and prepping the hash browns from whole potatoes.Then they went through some changes in either owner or chef--and you could taste the tin can some oif the ingredients came in. After an absence of many years I tried them again this year. They have excellent waitresses, a welcoming atmosphere, and food that is almost as good as I remember from my first visits. They are on the right path and I will give them more of my business.I appreciate an inviting atmosphere and great service, but memorable taste is what brings me back to a restaurant as well--let's hope they continue and get even better.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank edward c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Coffe and Delicious Food”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This restaurant is open for Breakfast (which they serve al day) and lunch only. We arrived within the last hour of service. Friendly staff and fast service. Although we were the last customers, we were not rushed out the door. The food was excellent and we are looking forward to our next visit. Great blend of Mexican and American dishes. And the coffee was perfect!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank jkmason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“LOVE IT!!! Great Mexican & breakfast served all day”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

This is a local cafe with an extensive menu, especially breakfast options. I'm adding this to our list of weekend places where breakfast is served all day. Lots of vegetarian options. Since most items are either Mexican or Mexican infused, you can get peppers, onions, tomatoes, salsa, sour cream, etc. in anything. They also have great breakfast like cinnamon swirl French toast, deluxe oatmeal with blueberries, etc. Not the place to go if you're in a hurry. This is a new favorite spot for us.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capital View Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Capital View Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing