We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tasty food dismissive waitress”
Review of River Room - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
River Room
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 5th Street
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
“tasty food dismissive waitress”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

the seasonal menu is real good
but waitress flat didn't get me
I shouldn't have to blurt out my med
condition for her to provide me veggies
vise High Glycemic popOvers
and she just reached over my meal to me
for this reason alone I won't be upset
if Macy's pulls out of St Paul MN - 2013

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Stpauliaina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    3
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Modesto, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“River Room”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

The River Room in Macy's was a quite respite from the hubbub in the mall. The pastry puff is served instead of bread, a pleasant change from the usual. The open faced sandwich was delicious.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank CBecky327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Loved the pop over and wild rice soup. Even the salads are awesome! i Tried the thai chicken salad, was great but yes too large a portion, u would need a box :-)

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Reema S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A Tradition!”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

My mom has been taking my sister and I here since we were very small. The popover is the best part of the meal if you like bread, eggs, and butter. The wild rice soup is creamy and delicious. The menu always has something new and we always enjoy whatever we order.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EllenJoan2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Lenox, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I went there on July 12th, 2012. It was so good. I had the strawberry walnut salad and everyone in the restaurant got a huge hot popover. I can't wait to go back. They are only open 11a-3pm.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ryansmom41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing