We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing!”
Review of Wild Onion

Wild Onion
Ranked #490 of 892 Restaurants in Saint Paul
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing!”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We settled on this restaurant after our first two trip-advisor recommendations had lines out the door. We were looking for a breakfast place and when we saw a make your own bloody mary bar, we thought we were in luck!

There were only about 7 couples there when we arrived & we were on a little time constraint, so we thought that would be a good thing. Not so much. It took over 30 minutes to get our BASIC breakfast order, and when each meal arrived with underdone hashbrowns instead of their "specialty parmesean potatoes", I was even more disappointed.

After going round & round with the manager, who definitely isn't schooled on giving good customer service, we still left paying WAY TOO MUCH for a sub-par breakfast experience.

I will never return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    29
    17
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“go on Wednesday nights!”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

On Wednesdays they have a great guys night out special-steak with the sides for $9.95 and beer for $1.98!!!!!!! a friend had four beers and her tab was under $8!! the food and service are excellent. The hostess was dilligent about wiping the glass doors down-I love that sort of attention to detail!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorhead, Iowa, United States
1 review
“Not worth the money.”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

My girlfriend and I went to the Wild Onion for our 2 year anniversary. Not recomended if you would like a quiet meal. It was definatley more of a bar than a restaurant. The music was SUPER loud. We spent about $60 on the meal and we ate about 10% of it because it tasted disgusting. The waiteress were helpful though. It's better fitted for a guys night out than any kind of romantis dinning.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John123456_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Where else can you get Sarracha/Balsamic Wings??”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Tender yet crunchy the hot is mellowed by the Balsamic which comes across as sweet when pared with honey.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeWatabLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Never have been disappointed”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Went here for lunch. Good food and service. Have gone here a few times and never been disappointed. Chili and Pasta Primavera was very good. Will definitely go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MissyS477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wild Onion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing