We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“expensive, loud, and greasy”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Highland Grill

Highland Grill
Ranked #46 of 885 Restaurants in Saint Paul
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“expensive, loud, and greasy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

The food here is not fresh. I usually eat organic, and the vegetables here taste cheap and conventional. The food is greasy, the room is very loud, and the glasses of wine small. This is a chain restaurant pretending to not be a chain.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    42
    13
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stillwater, MN
Level Contributor
198 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Try it - you may like it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We like "local", diners and intriguing menus. The service was great, the lunchtime crowd talkative, the menu selections right on for us and the portion size on the larger side but the food was only "ok" and the price was somewhat high. I had the huevos rancheros ( ok taste ) and my spouse had the "grill salad" with grilled chicken which had a lot of greens but very few cucumbers and tomatoes. We are seeking a replacement for a replacement diner since the closing of Coffee News but the food at the Highland Grill does not rank high enough for further consideration.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StillwaterTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
116 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“American with a twist”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Liked everything about this little place. Everyone was friendly and I loved the servers cute little flowered aprons. I liked how they took regular American food and put a little twist on it, that made it new. Had the taco salad and it was nothing like any I'd had before but, it was awesome!
Went with my family and all 7 of us were happy with everything.
First time I tried fried pickles. I thought they sounded gross but, my sister ordered them and I was surprised I liked them and would order them again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SteamyRice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Yep, It's All That!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

from the outset i was a little skeptical of the tight seating outside of getting a booth. i have eaten both inside on the tables and outside when i wanted more space. the tables are nice, they are quite intimate and you get to know your neighbors quite well, but it si meant to create community. if you want more privacy (like you want to break up with someone maybe) wait for a booth, they are quite spacious and worth the wait.

the staff is always helpful and amiable. always a smile and willing to accomodate your tastes. i come back here in large part for the service.

the food is a combination of home comfort food to some more cosmopolitan tastes (i.e. spicy shrimp hushpuppies :). the macaroni and cheese will certainly please and the special range from bbq ribs - yummmm, to caprese hamburgers that are just right.

go, commune with the locals and enjoy!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank graycloudrios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fergus Falls, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood eatery.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

We went to eat here after a long day of work and painting the house. The food was, as always, very good. The service was excellent and the servers friendly. There is a nice selection of entrees, sandwiches, soups, and salads that are not the same as every other place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Highland Grill also viewed

 

Been to Highland Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing