We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best pizza!!!”

Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 911 Restaurants in Saint Paul
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 5th St.
Description: Italy's abundant and diverse food styles are represented and sampled throughout the year at Pazzaluna. The many culinary faces of Italy's distinct regions find their way to Pazzaluna's cucina daily. Seasonal influence is always projected, as are the artisan and craft suppliers that provide Pazzaluna with the best raw-ingredients Mother Nature has to offer. Pazzaluna is proud of its reputation of buying direct from area farmers on some of its most prized items. This style of purchasing is the TRUE ITALIAN TRATTORIA way - using local, regionally grown and produced supplies, reflecting the unique influence of the area as all of the ingredients come together in concert to perform in a dinner experience of a lifetime. To Italians, a meal is more than just food-it's an experience, an event to be shared with family and friends. No where is this more true than at Pazzaluna Urban Italian in Saint Paul, one of the Twin Cities' best Italian restaurants.
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

In town for a Wild game and found this place on Yelp and was close to our hotel and Xcel. Great atmosphere, excellent pizza, great happy hour and very nice and attentive staff. Will definitely go back!!

Thank tracyruots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisseyHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Thank you for finding and choosing to visit Pazzaluna during your trip to Saint Paul for a Wild hockey game. We are very glad you enjoyed your visit along with the pizza, atmosphere, happy hour and staff. Please visit us again soon when you are back for the playoffis!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (556)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

359 - 363 of 556 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2014

This restaurant was excellent! Great location - right next door to The Saint Paul Hotel. Happy hour every day from 4-7p (even on weekends) in the bar area. Perfect size portions (some dishes allow you to order half size portion as well). Food was soooo good! Ambiance and atmosphere of the place is great. They have valet parking service and you can also order take-out if you pick up. The restaurant is relatively small so you likely need reservations if you don't want to sit in the bar area. Highly recommend going if you are in town!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank alg7334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We recently stopped in for an early dinner before a concert, but since we didn't earlier make a reservation we weren't sure we could fit it in. However, the hostess was most accommodating and provided us a nice half booth close to the door. With this crazy cold winter we have had, they also moved a chair over to help block off the breeze that rolled in when the door was opened, but that extra accommodation worked out very well! We always enjoy the food, and experience excellent service, but having a small added touch like that was most helpful. We will return for certain!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Recent trip to a Wild game left us time to eat at Pazzaluna. Very convenient to the Excel Center. Second time I have eaten there and both meals were excellent. The only seat available was adjacent to the kitchen area where you can watch meals being prepared. For a foodie like me it was very entertaining and educational. I normally don't order something as mundane as spaghetti Bolognese but it looked excellent so I ordered it. I would order it again. Speedy service, decent wine, great food, great selection and a good value make this a repeat stop for me in the future. May want to make early reservations if in town for an event.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisseyHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Thank you for visiting Pazzaluna before a Minnesota Wild hockey game. We are very glad you enjoyed the food, service, selection and value. The part of the dining room near the open kitchen is a exciting and busy area in which many people like. Reservations are always recommended, and especially on event nights. We look forward to serving you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Had Pizza's in the Bar before dinner, they were burnt on top, and raw dough in the middle. Moved to the restaurant, service was slow, food was just decent, but not what it used to be. The sauce for the Spicy Penne tasted like it came from a jar or can, the pasta was overcooked for me, while it was undercooked for two of my friends. I used to come here all the time, but only agreed to celebrate a birthday for a friend. Prices are up 50% from 5 years ago, yet the food and service are one-third as good as they used to be.

I have a $50 gift card to this place that I will probably never use..... Not worth the disappointment, and I would prefer to have my old memories of what used to be one of the best dinning options in downtown St. Paul.

Thank mspreh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing