We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overrated” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant

Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 876 Restaurants in Saint Paul
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 5th St.
Description: Italy's abundant and diverse food styles are represented and sampled throughout the year at Pazzaluna. The many culinary faces of Italy's distinct regions find their way to Pazzaluna's cucina daily. Seasonal influence is always projected, as are the artisan and craft suppliers that provide Pazzaluna with the best raw-ingredients Mother Nature has to offer. Pazzaluna is proud of its reputation of buying direct from area farmers on some of its most prized items. This style of purchasing is the TRUE ITALIAN TRATTORIA way - using local, regionally grown and produced supplies, reflecting the unique influence of the area as all of the ingredients come together in concert to perform in a dinner experience of a lifetime. To Italians, a meal is more than just food-it's an experience, an event to be shared with family and friends. No where is this more true than at Pazzaluna Urban Italian in Saint Paul, one of the Twin Cities' best Italian restaurants.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Overrated”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The first time I came here was when I met my BF for happy hour. We sat at the bar. The bartender asked for our drink order. We were starving, but the the bartender never asked if we wanted to order any food. He never even checked on us. We left and went down the block to Kincaid's which was fantastic.

The second time I went there was for work. We ordered various appetizers including pizza, antipasta, and bruschetta. Considering the rave reviews I'd read and seen about this place, the food was just ok and didn't live up to the reviews.

Don't waste your time or money on this place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank marthajett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisseyHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for visiting Pazzaluna on two occassions. We are sorry you have found the experiences to be poor and hope we can speak with you to learn more about them to prevent them in the future and correct them with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    154
    60
    26
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California, United States
Level Contributor
119 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Had a business dinner here recently - pricey place. Food was ok - I just didnt find it that spectacular. Had Chicken Saltimbocca - was ok - again it didnt blow me away - it was good, just not great and to be honest I felt it was overpriced. Serivce was ok - I had to constantly ask for a refill on my iced tea and was not given any sweetner with it. Chef sent out a pre appetizer - sliced cucmber with micro greens and balsamic vinegar - tasty and a nice touch. For appetizers we had calamari - so so; and burschetta - which was good (but how can you screw up something so simple)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tribesman5398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
127 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Excellent business dinner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Pazzaluna was an excellent venue for a business dinner. Service was absolutely outstanding, the atmosphere is great, and the menu had plenty of options for every type of eater as well as a great wine list. I would highly recommend it for business meals.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank thelivingjuj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisseyHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for visiting Pazzaluna for a business dinner. Our team prides itself on providing excellent service and we are glad you found it to be outstanding. Our menu does offer a variety of authentic and inspired Italian items at a variety of price points. Thank you for visiting and we hope you will visit again soon for business, pleasure or both!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN, US
Level Contributor
110 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Excellent other than the first 5 minutes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Although we live less than 10 minutes away, this was our first visit to Pazzaluna. We had a 6:30 reservation on a Saturday night and we arrived about 6:28. I couldn't believe the chilly 'reception' we received from the host staff. No smile, no welcome. She just kind of looked at me until I told her my name and our reservation time. She and the other hostess discussed which table they should seat us at and then the other hostess sat us without much enthusiasm (I'll mention we were dressed nicely, not the shorts and flip-flops we saw from some). At this point, I wondered if we had made a huge mistake by finally trying Pazzaluna.

Thankfully, the rest of our dining experience was fantastic! Our waiter was wonderful and spent a few minutes chatting with us before even mentioning the menu. The service was attentive without any hovering. The food was AMAZING! My husband had the Sea Bass with risotto and couldn't stop raving about how delicious it was. I had the Spicy Penne which was also very good. The Chocolate Versato was the perfect ending to a great meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willowbrook
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Never Again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Don't understand the glowing reviews for this restaurant. Our meal started out well with a good corn & potato chowder but soon went downhill. Before we had even finished the soup, the busboy whisked our bread plates away. The entrees were disappointing. Rabbit was tasteless while the chicken parmesan was very, very salty. And both dishes were lukewarm. Our first warning should have been when we replied no to the waiter's question had we been there before. He launched into a pompous explanation of the menu. And it was a very standard menu not at all hard to understand. Do they get a lot of people who wander in thinking it's a McDonald's?

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LFL101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisseyHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for choosing to visit Pazzaluna. We are very sorry for your experience. As you note, Pazzaluna has an exceptional record, but that does not mean we do not make mistakes. We will certainly address the issues with the staff and appreciate the feedback as we are always striving to be better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Pazzaluna Urban Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing