We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to try new brews”

Great Waters Brewing Company
Ranked #78 of 895 Restaurants in Saint Paul
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great place to try new brews”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

If you like beer (and even if you don't) you should visit Great Waters Brewing Company. They feature many craft beers and the wait staff is more than willing to help you select the perfect beer for your tastes. The menu is diverse enough to please just about anyone. We tried one of the nightly features and loved the unique flavors and touches the chef added. The outdoor patio is another big plus—especially on good weather days!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marketmiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    92
    41
    19
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Close to the theater”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

My family nd friends chose this restaurant because it was close to the Park Square Theater where we were going later.

The location is quite nice with seating both inside and outside in the pedestrian plazza. Inside is decorated with a number of paintings of the St. Paul area, very nice.

Service was extremely attentive but not overdone.

The food varied in quality. Two of our party had the walleye and it was "outstanding, some of the best I've ever had" they were heard to say. The fish and chips were good as was the bacon cheeseburger. I selected the Philly cheese steak which was large but fairly bland with not a very good texture or flavor to the beef. Not horrible but not worth ordering agan.

We tried a number of their house beers which nearly everyone enjoyed. I prefer my beer colder than 52 degrees which is their "cask temperature'.

We will be back the nwxt time we are looking for a meal in that area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheese4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
453 reviews
317 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“Solid choice for a casual meal with a beer”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

The food is above par for a bar/tap room type place. The chicken wild rice soup is tops in St. Paul. The brews are usually pretty good, but change often, so it's tough to find one you really like, then go back in two months and it's gone. If the weather is nice either of the two out door locations are great!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank mspreh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
852 reviews
564 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,642 helpful votes
“Bland dinner experience......”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

My friends and I went to Great Waters and had a very average meal. I had the chicken sandwich with poblanno sauce and smoked gouda but it had no flavor. The home brewed root beer was decent while the lemonade was terrible. Lots of beers to choose from on the menu. My friend had the penne pasta but it was under-cooked. My other friend had the fish and chips and he thought the meal was good. Service was poor as we wanted to sit outside on the side patio we got stuck sitting on the patio in front where the tables where much smaller and we were cramped. We asked to sit at the larger patio spot but was told those tables were saved for parties of 4 or more. There were 6 tables open and yet we still could not sit there. Really? When we left those same 6 tables were still open. I would not return due to the food being bland and the service not being friendly.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexanderDelarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Night out with Friends”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We went here for the first time on a Saturday night and it was a good time. We parked on the street and had no problem finding a spot within a few blocks of the restaurant. The restaurant was busy , but we were seated within a few minutes. The wait staff was excellent , the beverages were good and so was the food. Thanks for a good time !

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pjjke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Waters Brewing Company also viewed

 

Been to Great Waters Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing