We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Anniversary Meal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The St. Paul Grill

The St. Paul Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
The St. Paul Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 876 Restaurants in Saint Paul
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $60
Cuisines: Bar, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 5th St.
Description: Recognized annually as the best restaurant in Minneapolis and St. Paul, The St. Paul Grill is On Everyone's List! Business or romance, lunch or dinner, casual or upscale. This downtown icon features a classic, yet surprisingly diverse dining menu ranging from prime steaks and thick-cut chops to succulent poultry and fresh seafood. The Grill's classic and impressive mahogany and brass bar is filled with the Twin Cities' finest selection of rare spirits and wines, and is host to the premiere scotch club in Minnesota. From the incredible food and the impeccable service to the gorgeous view of Rice Park, The St. Paul Grill is a destination restaurant with a reputation that spans generations. It's the kind of place that has a very loyal following and makes new regulars all the time.
Tamworth
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely Anniversary Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

I went to visit my husband, who was spending 3 months working in St. Paul. Our wedding anniversary fell while I was visiting and we wanted to go somewhere special to celebrate and chose here.
There was plenty of choice on the menu, which I checked out before our visit, as well as specials available on the evening. My husband had crab cake to start followed by filet mignon steak, which was cooked to perfection and came with a very generous portion of potato fries - more than enough to share. I opted for the mussels off the specials menu, followed by the walleye, which was very tasty. We both opted for the Ghirardelli chocolate sundae for desert which was lovely. The service we received through out our visit was excellent.
It wasn't a cheap meal, but for a special occasion it was well worth a visit.
The website gives details of the parking available. As it was a wet evening we took advantage of the free parking at the Lawson Ramp, with access to the Grill via the skyway.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisseyHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Paul Grill, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Happy Anniversary and thank you for choosing The St. Paul Grill to celebrate. Visiting your husband was a wonderful gift and we are so glad you enjoyed the Crab Cake, Mussels, Filet Mignon, Walleye and Ghirardelli Chocolate Sundaes! We will also let our staff know they provided excellent service.

We are glad you checked out our website ahead of time and found details about various parking options - valet, street and local ramps. We do validate parking at the Lawson Ramp for 2 hours with purchase of entree. Thank you for visiting and honoring The Grill with your celebration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    387
    104
    53
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food, just ask for a seat away from the bar.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

Fabulous food, and impeccable service. This is a GREAT restaurant, we really enjoyed it. I had a perfectly seasoned NY strip, and my wife enjoyed the Walleye dish immensely.
My ONLY issue with the restaurant is that the bar is open to the restaurant. The bar can be quite busy, as the hotel is a favorite spot for wedding receptions.
That said, the bar noise can detract from the lovely ambiance of the restaurant. I would recommend a table away from the bar, otherwise no adverse comments. WONDERFUL food.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 34S_Latitude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisseyHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Paul Grill, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for visiting The St. Paul Grill and for your review. Thank you for the compliment on calling us a "GREAT restaurant"! Very appreciated. We are known for our steaks but even more so for our fish and seafood. You and your wife made excellent choices.

The Bar is open to the front portion of the dining room and does get very busy. Some people like the energy and some people would prefer more distance in-between, and thankfully we can accommodate both.

We are so glad you enjoyed the food and please do request to sit in the location of your desire. We will do our best to accommodate. Thank you and please visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
245 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Our food was just average, but very expensive with a cost of 100 per person. The drinks had to be sent back due to some weird sweet juice in the martini. The service was just average.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank irbflyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherokee, North Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent upscale dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

The food here is absolutely delicious. I had the Filet and it was like chewing on butter the meat was so tender. The chef cooked my meat perfectly as well as both of my colleagues whom I was dining with. You do pay for the quality of food you get here so be prepared. All sides are a la carte, but big enough for everyone at the table to share. Between three of us we barely made a dent in the hash brown (which was delicious). I do recommend reservations because this place gets busy. We showed up late for our reservations, but the staff showed no sign of being disappointed with us over this and seated us right away anyway. Very professional staff and delicious food. Should be rated much higher for restaurants in St.Paul.

Helpful?
1 Thank BirdtownRep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisseyHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Paul Grill, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for visiting The St. Paul Grill and for your flattering review. Our staff from the host team to the culinary team and everyone in-between love The St. Paul Grill and creating memorable experiences. Thank you for choosing us during your recent visit and we are so glad you enjoyed the food and the service. We hope you will return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saipan, Mariana Islands
Level Contributor
308 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“A serious resraurant and bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Four of us went to lunch on Saturday. A selection to please all of us. From their walleye with a maple syrup finish to their fish stew, wewere all happy. Our server was very bright and helpful.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank IslandFolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The St. Paul Grill also viewed

 

Been to The St. Paul Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing