We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful hotel excellent lunch!!!”
Review of The St. Paul Grill

The St. Paul Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
The St. Paul Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 888 Restaurants in Saint Paul
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $60
Cuisines: Bar, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 5th St.
Description: Recognized annually as the best restaurant in Minneapolis and St. Paul, The St. Paul Grill is On Everyone's List! Business or romance, lunch or dinner, casual or upscale. This downtown icon features a classic, yet surprisingly diverse dining menu ranging from prime steaks and thick-cut chops to succulent poultry and fresh seafood. The Grill's classic and impressive mahogany and brass bar is filled with the Twin Cities' finest selection of rare spirits and wines, and is host to the premiere scotch club in Minnesota. From the incredible food and the impeccable service to the gorgeous view of Rice Park, The St. Paul Grill is a destination restaurant with a reputation that spans generations. It's the kind of place that has a very loyal following and makes new regulars all the time.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
223 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“beautiful hotel excellent lunch!!!”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Enjoyed a great bottle of wine with my husband along with lunch. Bread was wonderful, butter actually has a flavor. The wild rice soup was great, the bacon in the Cobb salad was Unbelieveable. The charred salmon salad was the best I've ever had. Key lime pie topped off the afternoon. You can actually walk through a skywalk from the Crown Plaza Hotel to it without getting wet in rain for treading snow!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grannyofthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisseyHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Paul Grill, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for visiting The St. Paul Grill from Mukwonago, Wisconsin! We are so glad you thought the Charred Salmon Salad was so fantastic and we cannot disagree! It is one of our most popular items. We hope you will return soon and you should ask a Front Desk person at The Saint Paul Hotel for a tour of one of our rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    402
    111
    54
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beardsley, MN
Level Contributor
126 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great historical building”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

A great place to stop for a drink or meal. Dinners are on the upper end, but lunches reasonable. Beautiful, elegant building. Boasts a 500lb painting in the Bar from Germany.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisseyHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Paul Grill, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for visiting The St. Paul Grill and for your review on TripAdvisor. We hope you will return again and enjoy lunch or dinner!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zimmerman, Minnesota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“so-so, could've been better, could've been worse”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We are in town for the weekend to celebrate our birthdays. This was where we chose to eat our first night (3/1/13) for my significant others birthday. We ordered a glass of Riesling wine for each of us, I ordered chicken rigatoni and my S.O. ordered swordfish. We got our food within 15 minutes. Unfortunately when I tried mine I was disappointed to find the noodles were not cooked all the way- they were still have hard! Yes, we each tried two noodles on my plate to make sure it wasn't just one. The swordfish was awesome. It was about five minutes before we could flag down our waitress to order something different for me. I wanted the Dijon chicken but was told it would take quite a bit longer than the rotisserie chicken, so I said the rotisserie is fine. (Keep in mind we didn't get there until 9:30PM as we had a 1 1/2 hour drive to get down here after work so we were hungry) My S.O.ate his food while I waited for my new order. Unfortunately, he was almost done with his before I received mine, which was a huge bummer because who wants to eat alone? The other part of the experience I didn't care for was the guy refilling our water glasses leaned over our food to give us more water without even asking and in doing so dripped water in my wine. We would have been more than happy to move our water glasses to the end of the table if he had asked, which we ended up doing after the first refill in order to avoid him leaning over our food/dripping water in our wine. The positive? Food was good when we received it and our server was nice. Also liked the lighting was not overpowering.

Would we go back? Honestly no. We except a much better experience when going to an upscale restaurant. It was a let down on my S.O.'s birthday.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jalberti84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisseyHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Paul Grill, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you for visiting The St. Paul Grill and for your feedback. We appreciate you traveling for your significant other's birthday and appreciate you choosing The Grill for such an occasion. We are very glad your SO enjoyed the swordfish and am sorry the pasta was not prepared properly originally, but glad a server did respond to get you something as quick as possible. We are sorry you are not planning on returning, but do hope you would give us another opportunity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Sad to report an average experience”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Our family's favorite celebration brunch is at the St. Paul Hotel. This time our experience did not live up to their usual standard. First of all they seated us at the back, surrounded on 3 sides by a large family who were obviously having a great time. They were so loud (but I'm glad they were having a good time) we had difficulty carrying on a conversation. Next when the pecan rolls were served, even though I had made it clear this was a birthday celebration, the birthday candle was missing. This may seem like a small thing, but it is a tradition we look forward to. Finally, our favorite is their salmon benedict (one of their specialties) and they were OUT of salmon. I am very disappointed and we may need to look for another venue for family celebrations.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MeredithMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
180 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good food, good service”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The service is great, the food is very good and the atmosphere is great. I also liked seeing the wall of fame which includes some of the famous folks from St. Paul, i.e., F. Scott Fitzgerald and Judy Garland.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank MurJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The St. Paul Grill also viewed

 

Been to The St. Paul Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing