We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mighty Ducks”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mickey's Diner

Mickey's Diner
Ranked #36 of 885 Restaurants in Saint Paul
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Santa Maria, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mighty Ducks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

I'm not from MN but diners have always intrigued me and this was the real deal. Real diner car nestled amongst tall buildings in Minneapolis. Had a distinction of being used in the movie Mighty Ducks. Food is good diner quality, had the steak dinner and was cooked to my liking.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adolfo o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    153
    50
    24
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis MN
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“If you're nostalgic about eating in a 1930's era train car, then this the place to go. The food? Not so much”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

This diner located in St. Paul has been around for decades. In fact I believe it's on the National Registry of Historic Places if I'm not mistaken.

If you're out of town and are staying downtown, and are looking for some time to kill, you should check it out. There are a lot of "characters" that hang out there.

But the food is what you'd expect from a diner from this era. And that means....GREASE! Yes the food is marginal at best and it's the standard fare of fried eggs, sausage, and hash browns with the other variations of that base menu.

It's open 24/7 so if you are hungry at 2:00am and don't want to pay for room service (if it's even open at all) at the hotel, at least that's an option . And those "characters" I talked about earlier?

Well let's just say that, at that time of the morning, they're even more "interesting"

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nurd45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
438 reviews
284 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Iconic Diner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Ya just need to go to say you have been there, then go back next time and get the blueberry pancakes cause they are really good. The food otherwise is typical diner stuff which is good but nothing over the top, but the Mickey's experience is what you go for. You never know, it may be just the menu you are looking for

Helpful?
Thank djdahlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“a must visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

as seen on TV and Movies, very friendly service, large servings, had the Mulligan's Stew, just perfect, built in the 30's and well kept up, a unique experience

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
176 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“What a disaster!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

We thought it would be an experience to remember. We didn't expect it to be the bad experience had received for our troubles. On a Saturday, 1:30pm:

- Place is tiny and cramped. If you are a big person or someone with special needs, don't even think about it. People brush by you, so if you have contact phobia, that is another reason to stay out.
- We walk in, people waiting to settle their bills, so we think it won't be too long. There are two couples waiting ahead of us. After 15 minutes, they get seated.
- we are watching the cook. His fingers are in everything. He looks dirty. The place looks dirty. Nothing looks like it has been cleaned in forever. Everything is covered in grease, burn, icky unknown material on the walls.
- Another 15 minutes go by. Lots of empty seats, but dirty dishes still everywhere. People start grabbing seats even though there is supposed to be a wait. No one is enforcing an unspoken courtesy rule of first come first served. Every man for himself.
- 30 minutes have gone by. I'm furious. And for what, greasy food with the cook's scraggly facial hair falling into the pancake batter?

Forget it. Definitely an experience you'll never forget.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Janie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mickey's Diner also viewed

 

Been to Mickey's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing