We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best Mexican Restaurant Cafe and Deli” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Burrito Mercado

El Burrito Mercado
Reserve with OpenTable
El Burrito Mercado is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 877 Restaurants in Saint Paul
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Mahtomedi, Minnesota
2 reviews
“The best Mexican Restaurant Cafe and Deli”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2014

We have been going to the Mercado for years. We love the food. It is authentic and delicious, every time. We have never been disappointed. The portions are generous. The staff is outstanding. We cannot say enough great things about this restaurant!!

  • Visited September 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank linda5858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    44
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
84 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best of Everything!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

Awesome place all around, groceries from all over the world, beautiful items for gifts, deli and restaurant serving real deal and delicous Mexican cuisine!!! Friends and family from out of town love this place and are surprised at the beautiful and diverse communities Minnesota is blessed with.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JellyBean2464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
291 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good Lunch spot and Great grocery store”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

They have a made to order lunch line, with super tasty stuff. Anything you want.

The grocery store has high quality dried, and fresh made stuff. Good store and great lunch spot.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank wuzed111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
125 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & So Much More!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

We used a dot com deal from Twin Cities Live to try this place out. TCL had done a piece on it and it looked so good! We were so happy it tastes as good as it looks. There is a lot of parking out back but it was full so we parked across the street from the parking lot in a free parking garage. El Burrito Mercado has a sit down restaurant but also has what they call the El Cafe Express which is like a deli counter or like at Chipotle where you walk in front of a long case and tell the servers what you want. Besides this, there is a full grocery store "mercado" and a gift shop and a huge bakery/deli counter. The deli counter has a very large selection of wonderful looking salads and sauces and salsas, the bakery just plain has a great selection of everything. We didn't know where to look first! It was lunch time on a Sunday and the Express line had people happily waiting in line the entire time we were there - not the same people! The line moved rather quickly, but the people were pouring in. We waited about 15 minutes for a table in the sit down section since that was also packed. We spent the time quickly looking at the gift shop area and grocery and bakery sections. There are huge selections of things needed to put together a great meal at home! All 3 of us were very pleased with our food. The servings were very generous. I ordered the gordita platter with chicken and it was delicious. Delicious! One of us ordered the carne asada and loved that and another in the group ordered a beef burrito platter and said the meat was seasoned perfectly. We ordered the tres leches cake for dessert and that was also a very generous portion, delicious and pretty. We waddled out of there stuffed and happy, and brought home a few strawberry empanadas for the next day (Also excellent). Something was going on out in the parking lot - big tent, lots of people, Mariachi players walking around. We didn't have time to check it out, but it looked fun. We will for sure go back and eat here again. It is a great place for kids and older people alike. There was a good age mix in the entire place and everyone was having a good time. Lot's of neat Mexican decor. Our only complaint was that we had to wait quite awhile to order dessert and then to get our bill, but there were only 2 servers and one table clearer working and they weren't standing in the back chewing gum - they were working very hard and very fast and were still very friendly. So we understood the wait. Maybe they could add another person or 2 on a busy day. But highly recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MNClean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deephaven, Minnesota
Level Contributor
172 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Mexican”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Eating at El Burrito is always a tasty experience. But we had them cater a party and that was truly a five star performance. The food was terrific and they did a great job of setting up and serving.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Burrito Mercado also viewed

 

Been to El Burrito Mercado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing