We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dull food and atmosphere”
Review of Cafe Latte

Cafe Latte
Ranked #1 of 27 Coffee & Tea in Saint Paul
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast
St Paul, MN
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dull food and atmosphere”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Too noisy, overpriced and food is okay. Stay with the soups, desserts are overpriced and only the chocolate cake is worth it. I don't understand why people think this is a great place to eat. Not for me!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SusieMHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    155
    25
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best of the best”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

The sandwiches, salads, desserts, drinks.... everything is outstanding. The service is friendly and most helpful. Highly recommend.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelingtoteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Don't leave Saint Paul without a stop here.”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The best in it's class, Cafe Latte is a Saint Paul institution. This cafeteria-style restaurant offers up always fresh and delightful soups, salads, sandwiches and phenomenal desserts. I've never had anything here that wasn't absolutely fresh and perfectly prepared. Salads are inventive, and you can get a "sampler" so you can try 2 or 3. The Spread Sampler is great choice-wonderful baguette with 2 or 3 of of the daily spread choices-some cream cheese-based, egg salad, tuna and the best pâté I have ever had. There are generally 4 or 5 soup choices, with their famous chicken chili and frequently a stew choice as well. All the breads are fabulous, and the desserts-perfect. Cafe Latte simply has the best bakery in the Midwest, I am sure. Oh, and you can get an espresso or glass of wine. If you're in a hurry, just pop across the street to their sister spot-Bread & Chocolate-for great breakfast sandwiches, wonderful pastries, espressos and to-die-for chocolate chip cookies.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank doreen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“One of the greatest for desserts”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

I was visiting for work and one of locals told me to try this place. It was pretty awesome, the atmosphere was lively even though it was late. It was located in one of the nicer neighborhoods with some other fancy stores so it matched its clientele. There was a huge line for the fresh baked desserts and cakes. I had the tres leches cake and it was one of the best I've had. They also make fresh pizza and have a vegetarian menu. They had a lot going on in the restaurant. Although I didn't get to try everything it also looked like they baked fresh bread. Will have to come back and try the other desserts.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank blu817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent (head to the wine and pizza bar in back)”
Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

I've been to Cafe Latte many times in the past ten years, and always go to the wine and pizza bar in the back. It's very different than the front area - cozy, more like a restaurant (although you have to order at the bar), and relaxed. Service is always fantastic and friendly, and I've never had a bad pizza or glass of wine there. And of course the desserts are fantastic! I've been there many times and will continue to make this my regular place to meet up with friends.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 55xxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cafe Latte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing