We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sleeper in St. Paul”
Review of The Buttered Tin

The Buttered Tin
Ranked #14 of 888 Restaurants in Saint Paul
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
115 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Sleeper in St. Paul”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Great place at the corner of Wacouta and 7th Street East. Week day parking was not an issue.
Following a visit to the Maya Exhibit at MN Science Museum we stopped here for lunch. I had the "Damm Good Breakfast Sandwich" which lived up to the review published by another reviewer. My husband had the Reuben with a side of roasted fall fruits and vegetables. We both commented on the vibrant colors of the fresh ingredients, bit of a twist on the usual breakfast/lunch fare and also delicious. Topped off our meal with a shared German chocolate cupcake. Windows, lighting, back and white decor made it a bright spot despite the rain outdoors. Local celebrity also dining at The Buttered Tin.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 55plustraveler2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    48
    20
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Homemade Twinkies!!”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Just found a new place in St. Paul on the corner of Wacouta and 7th Street East. They open a 7 am and serve breakfast and lunch. They also have a nice little selection of cupcakes and pastries, which includes homemade twinkies (which are to die for!!) and at least one gulten free item. If your looking for a cute little place to grab a bite, this is the place. And try the Twinkies!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deanna21769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
142 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Tasty Breakfast”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

After reading a very good review of this restaurant in a recent City Daily Newspaper, I decided to enjoy a Sunday breakfast there. On a very bright sunny morning I arrived at 9:30 to find a full restaurant with a 40-45 minute wait. Since I planned ahead with a newspaper to read, I thought I would not mind the wait. Unfortunately, there are no chairs or benches provided, which I found quite annoying because it looked like there was sufficient room both inside and outside to provide some seating for overflow customers. I spent my time sitting on an uncomfortable curb, along with a number of others, while more were standing or leaning against walls. There were some outdoor tables; four to be exact, and I wondered if more could be provided. When finally seated, my order was promptly taken, and I accepted the waitperson's recommendation.The soft scrambled eggs I ordered were cooked to perfection and were accompanied by a small amount of fruit in season and some tasty greens. The glass of water was lukewarm, and I had to ask for ice. Coffee was okay, but not great. The restaurant is in a good Lowertown location, close to the Farmer's Market, and I predict that their business will be brisk and successful. Parking may be an issue; because it was Sunday, meters were free. . .if you could find an empty space. It was an overall good experience, and I intend to return, but, please, offer some seating for waiting diners!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bringing life back to Lowertown”
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

So happy to see this once-dysfunctional corner space turned into such a hip and comfortable bistro. A boon for all us office workers in Lowertown. Perfect light & tasty huevos rancheros for breakfast and tasty treats for early afternoon snack. Everything tastes fresh and made with high-quality ingredients. Great polished decor, always busy but not too crowded. Staff is super friendly. Becoming a regular stop.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JCMN621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
197 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Delicious Food”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Went to The Buttered Tin for breakfast/lunch items after reading a very favorable review in the St. Paul paper. The restaurant was busy and the wait to order up front was about 15 minutes-just enough time to consider the options. Our trio had basil soup (delicious/a bit spicy), the Breakfast Hot Dish of the Day (which consisted of cheese, bread, egg, chopped bacon) accompanied by a fabulous lettuce salad, and the Pig's Eye Breakfast of eggs, organic farm sausage, whole grain toast and hash browns. The three of us were very pleased with the fabulous flavors, large portions, service and atmosphere of the restaurant. We didn't try any of the cupcakes or other bakery items, although they looked beautiful-next time! The only "ding" to the experience was the awkward arrangement of ordering (without any display of the daily specials) and one person taking drink orders and payment and another cashier taking orders and payment for food. A better indication of where to order/daily specials would be helpful before arriving at the counter (instead of a sheet of paper on the counter with information).
We will be back for the comfort yet gourmet foods.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Buttered Tin also viewed

 

Been to The Buttered Tin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing