We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Saint Paul

“Thumping loud music at 5:30- mah service”

Tavern on the Avenue
Ranked #477 of 984 Restaurants in Saint Paul
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Reviewed January 21, 2020 via mobile

What type of sports bar has thumping loud music blaring at 5:30? Our very slow and uncaring server was our first clue we were not headed for greatness. My son chose this place for the build your own burger concept. They have very very few real choices- you will end up with a regular burger - they did say it was a fine tastes. No not order the sautéed onions as I believe they added sugar.

The bar screams out we don’t want your family business- we are a party bar. Believe that and take your family elsewhere. Skinner’s is so much better and you can take to people.

I do not recommend you trying this place.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank heatherj189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (16)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 16 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2018

Trying to find out what this bar was called previously. Served these amazing Irish Fries..been a long time since I was there and pretty sure it had a different name then- Scotty's???.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Cyndi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2017

They offer on weekends. It is a great deal - $4.50 and you pour your own shot. All the mixes are there, Zig Zag, Clamatto, plenty of pickles, olives etc. We had breakfast but it was disappointing. The price was reasonable. $7.99 for Two eggs, small piece of ham, undercooked hash browns and dry, cold toast. They weren't busy yet it took awhile for the food to show up. Service was okay. I would try the place again for happy hour or dinner - they have a nice patio and fire pit, big screen tv outside. Nice atmosphere inside as well.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Wtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2017 via mobile

Came in and seated ourselves. No one even made eye contact let alone asked us if they could take our order.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2017

Stopped in for lunch ordered up the 1/2 Sandwich (Roast Beef) along with a coup of Chicken Wild Rice Soup $ 6.00 with home made chips with French Onion Dip . . . I know!! . Very large portions, come hungry.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank surestop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tavern on the Avenue also viewed

 
Saint Paul, MN
 

Been to Tavern on the Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing