We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good time”

Ward 6 Food & Drink
Ranked #12 of 885 Restaurants in Saint Paul
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Excellent food and drink in a friendly atmosphere. We have 20 taps of Minnesota craft beer, classic and new cocktails, a surprising wine list, made from scratch food with high quality (mostly local) ingredients.
mpls,mn
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Went to W6 for my son's b-day. We all had a good time and it was fun to get back to the old neighborhood, and have fine dining added to the mix. They don't take reservations so be prepared for a little wait as it is a small place, but it is worth the wait. At this time of the year do not miss out on having a Hot Buttered Rum, one of the best I have ever had. There is a great looking beer selection including Hamms on tap, which is apropos since it was originally a bar run by the Hamms Brewery in the early years. We started off with Poutines (french fries with cheese curds and gravy) and the Charcuteire plate which 4 of us shared, great taste experience. And something that doesn't happen often, we all chose the special of roast duck breast with polenta and a raspberry reduction. Of course, my son and I couldn't resist a healthy slice of their apple pie, his a la mode and mine (watchin the carbs) with a dollop of whipped cream. Definitely will be back for one of those reubens I saw and a craft beer.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    55
    14
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Twin Cities, MN
Level Contributor
172 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Striking Gold”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

St. Paul east siders are a tight knit lot. For the few that make it off this proud but run down section of ground overlooking downtown St. Paul, Ward 6 is the perfect excuse for returning home for a visit. The place attracts hipsters, doctors, college professors and hardworking blue collar types who have lived in the neighborhood for generations. We were there late so there were no kids, but many of the menu items are a bit out there for most young palates.

Ward 6 has a great beer selection, including Hamm’s, a beer long ago brewed in St. Paul by the fathers and grandfathers of Ward 6’s habituates. The great irony is that, while most of Ward 6’s brews are made in Minnesota, this Minnesota, old school classic is now brewed in Wisconsin. Beyond beer, the bar is fairly well stocked and the bartenders go all out on mixed drinks but they were rather stingy on my shot of Tequila. A bit of a surprise given the hard drinking antics on the east side.

The French Fries are hand cut, expertly fried and perfectly salted skin on gems and they come as an appetizer and as a side on many dishes. The Poutines use those great fries and add cheese curds and gravy. It sounds perfectly awful, but this Canadian favorite is worth braving a blizzard to get. It’s a good thing that the heart hospital and the St. Paul Fire Department Ambulance service are nearby. The Scotch Eggs are made with quail eggs. The smaller quail egg provides a better sausage to egg ratio than the traditional chicken egg version.

My wife had the Fatty Melt. A big burger, perfectly done to order, inside a huge grill cheese sandwich with the bread crust trimmed away. She loved it both times. My son liked his black bean burger. Several vegan alternatives are available. I had the special, the Charcuteire, a traditional French plate of assorted meats. This one came with duck rillettes, chicken pate, country terrine, spiced lamb and Finocchiona. I am not a fan of pate and I was allowed to double up on the spiced lamb in lieu of the pate. The spiced lamb was excellent. The terrine (sort of a chunky style pate) was the most robust of the prepared meats and delicious. The duck rillettes were light and the least assertive meat. The Finocchiona, a traditional salami from Tuscany, was hard and oily from the cured fat with a perfect balance of fennel. All of this came on a board with pickles and a swipe of golden mustard and a side of sliced bread.

The service was attentive and professional. The only knock was that my bread was not served with my plate because it was still in the oven when the table was served. I had to watch the rest of the table eat for a few minutes until it arrived. That was the kitchen’s fault, not the servers, and fortunately, for me, my dish consisted of cold meats.

The place is small and inviting. It gets crowded on weekends so expect to wait for a table. Tables near the front door get an occasional blast of cold air in the winter. Tables in the back get to watch the kitchen. Like most things in life, the middle is perfect. The place has no outdoor seating or nice place for a smoke. All in all, it was a great meal. We’ll be back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Dead Skunk S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exceded all expectations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Five of us ventured out to Ward 6 Food & Drink on St. Paul's East Side for dinner this New Year's Eve. We wanted to go someplace new to us where we could get good food at a relatively fair price. Ward 6 more than fulfilled our expectations.
For appetizers we ordered the Charcuterie, which included 3 different cured meat preparations, shredded duck, a liver paté, and two different house-made pickles; the Whipped Brie, served up with a fig chutney and awesome spicey walnuts; and finally some fiery chicken meatballs served up with a blue cheese dressing. In fact, we placed a second order for the meatballs.
We were less adventurous with our choice of main dishes. Three of us picked the Fatty Melt, a stacked high cheese burger with lettuce, onions, tomatoes—good ones even on a very chilly New Year's Eve, and bacon. There were single orders of a Reuben sandwich and Fish'n'Chips. The last was the only disappointment. Delicious French fries accompanied all five orders, the kind with true, deep-fried potato flavor, enough so that you don't think to dip them in ketchup.
We'll be back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank organplay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Get the burger”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

They have a terrific burger that is stuffed with cheese and they use really good ground beef. It is huge but I finished it and loved it. The rest of their menu is inventive and tasty, too.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Timothy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Level Contributor
499 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“very tasty - good prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

thoroughly enjoyed our visit on saturday night. a group of 4 and we got a table pretty quickly. the drinks were yummy and the food was tasty and priced right. fun atmosphere - neighborhood joint. service was good and attentive. would recommend and return.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank seetheworld010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ward 6 Food & Drink also viewed

 
Saint Paul, MN
 

Been to Ward 6 Food & Drink? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing