We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short & sweet”

Ward 6 Food & Drink
Ranked #15 of 892 Restaurants in Saint Paul
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Description: Excellent food and drink in a friendly atmosphere. We have 20 taps of Minnesota craft beer, classic and new cocktails, a surprising wine list, made from scratch food with high quality (mostly local) ingredients.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Short & sweet”
Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Lot's of long reviews, so I'll keep it brief. Best grilled Reuben sandwich in town! Excellent craft beer selection. Lively atmosphere. Came mid-week at 7pm. Waited about 30 minutes for a table - worth the wait.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bantin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    57
    15
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wow - great food & atmosphere”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We loved this place. The food was fabulous. The fish & chips the best I've ever had and I try them wherever I go when it's on the menu. Everyone else's food was also excellent. Loved the atmosphere. Service was friendly and timely. A bit of a wait because it's small but worth it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LDO_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Just what the East Side needed! Sköl!”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

My wife and I both grew up on the East Side of St. Paul, but good restaurants on Payne Avenue are few and far between. It was great to drive up to Ward 6 and see a crowd. It's a small place, so sometimes you have to wait a bit, but the food, the friendly waitstaff and the comfortable atmosphere make it worthwhile. I had the fish and sticks. The fish, deep fried in beef lard, was light, hot, and crispy, and the fries were among the best I've ever had. My wife's mini chicken salad sandwiches were also tasty. I don't drink, so I couldn't take advantage of the broad range of beer selections, and I'm not a fan of charcuterie, but those are among the many options available. The menu has enough variety to keep us coming back. Sköl, Ward 6!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tallguy442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Eastside Pride”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I have lived on the East Side of St. Paul of my life and it is refreshing to finally say I have a restaurant bar that I can call home. Fantastic atomsphere, amazing MN brewed beer selections, adult malts, fish that is deep fried in beef lard, fries that are better than the famous McDonalds, and of course outstanding service. If the waitress, Monique, didn't know what the answer was, she asked. It was fantastic to go to a place that you felt comfortable in the setting with company. Two thumbs up! Highly recommend this local restaurant!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A St Paul gem”
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Lucky St Paul to have this restaurant. Great food. A little on the gourmet side which is a nice touch. Friendly service and owner. Can be a little loud and not a big place. Always busy too. Which is good for them. Bad for us as it can be hard to get a table at times. Worth the wait though.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ward 6 Food & Drink also viewed

 
Saint Paul, MN
 

Been to Ward 6 Food & Drink? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing