We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun!”

Wabasha Street Caves
Ranked #2 of 42 Nightlife in Saint Paul
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This unique facility for private events is comprised of 12,000 square feet in an underground cave system, which features stucco ceilings, tile floors, a 60-foot bar, dining room and meeting space.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fun!”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

If you're ever looking for something to do, this is a very family friendly activity for a pretty cheap price. My husband and I went there one evening and just went through the tour. It was fun and informational. We havne't tried the little restaraunt, but it looks cute. I'd also like to try the Thursday night swinging dancing with a live Big Band if I could talk my husband into going!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank StephanieES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    33
    12
    5
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jensen Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
357 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 958 helpful votes
“Not your typical cave tour... Haunted Doubtful!”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Interesting history with mining, shrooms, then manmade for events, dancing etc. When it's dark half the year in St. P. why not go underground. The haunted tour was interesting. the actors took the experience to commercially comical level, to fake for me, but perfect for kids!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodSnobsFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Really cool”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

I mean that in every sense, too. The mushroom caves are a little chilly, and a light jacket is recommended when taking the tour. Included in the tour, is the history of the caves and the night club which was known as the Castle Royale. It was THE place for the gangster high life in St. Paul. Great tour, but little kids might be kind of bored and may want to run in the caves which is not allowed.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsdale, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Street Caves History Tour”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

It was OK for $6.00. The caves are man made. They mined silica back in the 1800's for glass. Well when that was done they grew mushrooms there. Then it became a speak easy and later a nightclub. Now they give tours and it is an event center. It is supposed to be haunted. The history was interesting but the cave was real not spectacular.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank smithy14975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Place to go Swing Dancing”
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Every Thursday is Swing Night. Live music from amazing swing bands. The atmosphere is wonderful, the place is always active, and you even can get a short dancing lesson if you get there early in the evening.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wabasha Street Caves also viewed

 

Been to Wabasha Street Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing