We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Are So Fortunate”

Ordway Center for the Performing Arts
Ranked #13 of 118 things to do in Saint Paul
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
153 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“We Are So Fortunate”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We love the Ordway. Last visit was for the St. Paul Chamber Orchestra. The acoustics are incredible, the appearance warm and elegant without being "stuffy", and I love the fact that they put occasional spacers between the seats so you don't feel like you're sitting on top of your neighbor. So much better than the Orpheum, for instance.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lvcavs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    20
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“excellent facility”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Just watched Miss Saigon in this theater with my wife. About 20 years ago we watched the same title at the Orpheum in Minneapolis but had seats in the second from the back row. Neither of us recalled much of the performance - primarily because it felt like we were a block from the stage. At the Ordway, we were in the B row of the balcony (got the tickets for free) and the seats were excellent and the performance spectacular. During intermission I went up and checked the seats in the gallery level - even those most elevated seats were relatively close and the angle was fine. We'll be watching for future performances arriving at this theater.. not a bad seat in the house, and the pricing is very reasonable. Also parking is convenient at the Riverside and Science museum ramps.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank bryan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
117 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“One of the BEST!”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Living in Saint Paul for my entire life I have come to take good theatre and music for granted. All it takes is a little travel to realize how blessed we are to have a quality facility that provides these and so much more in the style that the Ordway does. I have been to symphony and a Broadway touring performance at the Ordway in the last 6 days. Ordway is perfectly located. There are a number of parking options and you can even get there on the bus! Restaurant options in all price ranges within walking distance of Ordway are AMAZING! Meander through the park on your way to the door and take in the architecture and the social space that St Paul does so well. Get there early and have a glass of wine or a fancy drink before curtain. Just spending time in their gorgeous spaces is worth the early arrival. Ticket office is amazingly helpful, patient, and friendly. Visiting or living in St Paul, Ordway is a MUST-DO!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
1,676 reviews
526 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 677 helpful votes
“Excellent facility”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We've been to the Orchestra several times here. Great facility bring right downtown and close to restaurants and shops.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank lucycan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Such a delight! Highly recommend taking in an event. The Ordway is a lovely venue. Downtown St Paul is a wonderful area to take in.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank DavisCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ordway Center for the Performing Arts also viewed

 

Been to Ordway Center for the Performing Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing