We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every dollar”
Review of Midway Motel

Midway Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint Paul
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Midway Motel
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I stayed here for 5 days loved the hotel. Had two kids with me under the age of 5 felt very safe and was a quiet place to stay. Tried to book again in August but no openings :( ........loved the owners wife a very nice couple

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sjv2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 24 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

We had a reservation at a different motel, but they wouldn't check us in early. We were exhausted from a long drive, and when looking for a pharmacy, we drove past Midway Motel. I googled the phone number and called for a room. The amazing family that owns the motel was soooo accommodating. We were given a perfect little room. Very clean and quiet. The price was cheaper than the "other" motel that we subsequently cancelled. Not only could we rest after a long drive, we could walk to the state fair (rather than driving & paying for parking). Perfect family-owned motel that is clean. Thank you, owners of Midway! We will be back. :)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kirsten O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I stayed one night at the Midway Motel across the street from Hamline University in May 2013. This clean and safe motel had everything I needed for $50/nt. The room had wifi, the bathroom looked as though it had been recently remodeled, and the bed was comfortable. The room had air conditioning and a small refridgerator, but did not have a clock/radio, coffee pot, or a microwave, It's probably not a room that I'd want to hang out in, but it's a great place to sleep and get cleaned up in the am. Some have said that it's not in the best part of town, but I didn't see anything to support that opinion. The owners offer a great deal on a room that provides all of the basics including easy parking. The help behind the desk was helpful and friendly. Plus, it's nice to support a family owned business instead of some big impersonal corporation!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bkuster58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I stayed at the Midway Motel for one night, for a meeting at the UM-St. Paul campus. The staff were gracious and helpful, the room was good-sized and attractive, and the location was very convenient to my meeting - all for $50/night! Great experience. I would return to this motel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank skilzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

I've stayed here quite a bit. I've even called this motel my home for over 4 months. It is very quiet. The family that runs it now are very particular on who they rent the rooms to, so everyone who decides to stay there can expect a great and quiet experience. The rooms have been remodeled. This is a great and affordable place for someone to stay a night or two. Or however long you need to. It is also very safe for families with young children.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tracy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2010

I stayed at this place several times over the last 11 years or so.
It simply was the cheapest place to stay at the location I was looking for.
It looks a bit seedy, like the type of place were you expect hookers and drug dealers to
meet clients but it was a decent experience, I never heard or saw anything unusual. However, after my wife heard about it, she forbid me to stay over there again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank auswanderer2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2010

I needed a place in the city, didn't want spendy downtown prices, or any sort of trendy night life. I was biking around the Mpls/St. Paul area and just needed a spot to sleep. It was easy to bike to with a little trip planning ahead of time. I'm sure public transit would be a piece of cake. The area is quiet, seemed safe, heard no extra neighbor noise, bed comfortable- slept great. There's nothing frilly about this motel, they keep thier rates low. The staff was friendly and I liked the free coffee in the morning.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank itchintoroam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Paul hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Como Park Hotel
1.1 mi away
Days Inn ST. Paul-Minneapolis-Midway
4.2 mi away
Hyatt Place St Paul / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Capitol Ridge
4.0 mi away
InterContinental Saint Paul Riverfront
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
#10 of 16 in Saint Paul
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midway Motel

Address: 901 Snelling Ave N, Saint Paul, MN 55104-1200
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Number of rooms: 28

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing