We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sweetest Place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Minnesota State Fair

Minnesota State Fair
Ranked #1 of 13 Food & Drink in Saint Paul
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Always 12 days of fun ending Labor Day, the Great Minnesota Get-Together welcomes 1.9 million guests annually to a world-class showcase of livestock, agriculture, horse, art, talent and creative activities competitions; 500 food items; 900 free entertainment shows; the Mighty Midway and Kidway; Grandstand concert series; 1,000 vendors; exhibits for kids and adults; and more!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Stroller parking, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Beloit, Wisconsin, Usa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Sweetest Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We went to the Fair originally to see Weezer, but we played games, rode a few rides, and saw the animals beforehand. We ate and drank and had cream pies and ice cream and it wasn't over the top expensive. We had a lot of fun for the money, saw our show (excellent), and the best part was the VIP parking package which let us park way up front (the lot was absolutely packed!) behind a fence to use our own private entrance! Highly recommended! Honestly there was very little to dislike about the whole experience at the fair. Even if we had to park in the back, it would have been great! Make sure to wear comfortable shoes and dress for the weather. Very large place!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    536
    152
    37
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best State Fair in the nation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We've been attending the MN state Fair for a dozen years! My children insist on returning every year and wouldn't miss it for anything! One of our favorite attractions is the Great American sing along! We spend at least an hour or more every year singing along with the young and old alike! The food choices are amazing, there is something to attract ALL ages groups! The people watching is second to none. Although it gets quite busy, it is a day long experience well worth joining the crowds for!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lynda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“State Fair 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

$1 unlimited milk and chocolate milk. There's too much food to choose from, hard to decide. I tried the rice corn dog, didn't like it too much, the sweet martha's chocolate chip cookie is really good but a bit expensive.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank psydz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
277 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“I have been to a few State fairs, but this was a fair on steroids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

This was the largest and most fun State fair I have ever been to. I am not usually big on this sort of thing, but we were in the area and we thought we'd give it a try. We were lucky we found parking on someone's lawn, the weather was beautiful (we missed the heat) and while crowded, the fairgrounds are so large, that there are areas were you can escape the throngs. The food, well if you like something on a stick or deep fried anything, this is the place for you. While neither category appeals to me, the porketta wings were very tasty, as was the corn. Other members of our party sampled all sorts of fair food and enjoyed them. Be prepared to walk (and walk), wear comfortable shoes, and depending on your idea of fun, you can go on rides (best not after the deep fried pickles !), view champion farm animals, see the fish of Minnesota, crafts, drink local beers, listen to music or visit the Luminarium.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank daanddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Bring your walking shoes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We attended the State Fair on Saturday which was busy but did not feel overwhelming. You will need good walking shoes and you will be on paved roads all day... and bring a hat as there is little shade. There is so much to see, and Eat! If it can be deep fried and put on a stick you will find it here. Something for everyone and a great day out.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank bunnyr12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Minnesota State Fair also viewed

 

Been to Minnesota State Fair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing