We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is a great Fairgrounds with events all year round - the State Fair is one of the best in the nation”

Minnesota State Fair
Ranked #1 of 13 Food & Drink in Saint Paul
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Always 12 days of fun ending Labor Day, the Great Minnesota Get-Together welcomes 1.9 million guests annually to a world-class showcase of livestock, agriculture, horse, art, talent and creative activities competitions; 500 food items; 900 free entertainment shows; the Mighty Midway and Kidway; Grandstand concert series; 1,000 vendors; exhibits for kids and adults; and more!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Stroller parking
minneapolis
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“This is a great Fairgrounds with events all year round - the State Fair is one of the best in the nation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

As a 4-H-er, I won many trips to the State Fair for my sewing and canning during high-school and always enjoyed the experience at this excellent facility.
Now the well-tended grounds are much improved with a new technology building, more restrooms, a new grandstand and other updates.
The 50's car show in the summer is great fun, too.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GIM913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    542
    155
    38
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“The great State get-together”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

This is an annual requirement. I love the Minnesota State Fair and attend each year. It is a food extravaganza. I always have enjoyed Machinery Hill too.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Great Minnesota Get Together is Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

I don't know that the grounds themselves are all that interesting, but for the 10 days the grounds are jam-packed with thousands of fair visitors and the air is clogged with fat molecules from deep-frying every imaginable food that can be impaled on a stick, the State Fairgrounds is definitely the place to be! Have breakfast there early (healthy or junk, your choice) and stay for the evening grandstand show, followed by fireworks. If you are in the Twin Cities any of the 10 days leading up to Labor Day, take in one of the largest state fairs in the country.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, MN
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Huge fun!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Everything on a stick! Cheese curds. Chocolate chip cookies and Milk. Smelly animals. All the things you need for a fun day at the fair.

Helpful?
1 Thank Northerngirl49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, MN
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My favorite summer activity!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Most people think I'm crazy, but I go at least 2 times a year, sometimes more. There's so much to see, and so many indulgent things to eat! The Grandstand has a lot of great deals too. I love the State Fair!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Felicia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Minnesota State Fair also viewed

 

Been to Minnesota State Fair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing