We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful dining experience”
Review of Scusi - CLOSED

Scusi
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
East Bethel
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delightful dining experience”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I had just returned to MN from a business trip and my husband suggested we meet for dinner at Scusi. Neither of us had been there before but it was "Restaurant Week" in St. Paul and Scusi was on the list so we thought we'd give it a try. We didn't have reservations and showed up shortly before 6:00pm. The hostess gently let us know that she would gladly seat us but that they were completely full with reservations for 7:00pm. Our server was swift, entertaining, and helpful. Our menu selections were visually appealing, unique, and flavorful. The wine selection was robust. And, because it was restaurant week, we were able to enjoy appetizer, entree and dessert for $30/person. Lovely! We'll definitely return.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gwen052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    24
    7
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
1,064 reviews
619 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 441 helpful votes
“Several very ++ experiences - including requested menu change”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We've been here several times and enjoyed it each time. Food very tasty, service good, atmosphere pleasant. The wait person often has good suggestions about wine. When I asked for an addition of chicken onto a pizza with tomato & artichoke, the waiter agreed to ask the chef, who said "yes." It was great.
How's that for being responsive?
The bar area is crowded. Dining room has more space. We really like the pizza and the salads. This is a good place.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Seniordad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Homemade, flavorful, quaint and fun!”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Went to Scusi for our first time last night before a concert at the O'Shaugnessy. Started with the Burrata; smoked Italian plum, fresh pear, honey, Marcona almond; the fresh mozzarella was creamy and soft, the textures between the almonds and the toasted bread was delicious. My husband got the Nonna’s Roast Chicken; arugula, golden raisins, hazelnuts, ciabatta - he got the half and it was more than enough for two of us. The ciabatta was drowning in amazing juices, the chicken juicy. We shared the Butternut Squash Risotto with white wine, spinach, gorgonzola and Parmesan 1/2 portion, again, generous, and the Arugula Pesto Pappardelle, some of the best homemade pappardelle I've had, and I go to Rome at least 10 times a year! We finished it off with the hazelnut torte, and split a bottle of the cellar selection wine (a Dolcetto di Alba for a whopping $40... yum. Plenty to take home. The place buzzes; I strongly recommend reservations! We will be back very, very soon!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VailGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level Contributor
374 reviews
244 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Amazing Dinner!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

From the salad and entree to the bottle of moscato, everything was delicious! Our server was very attentive and gave us some awesome recommendations on the food we ordered and we couldn't have been happier with the service or the food! The sweet corn risotto was my favorite but everything we had really was excellent! It is a drive for us to go to Scusi's, but if we are in St. Paul for something it will definitely be a restaurant we will go back to!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank 7ContinentsExplored
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
58 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Waiter Failed to Disclose Prices; Awful Service and Pizza”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Never ever in my life have I not tipped a waiter, but last night I did not. We initially sat down outside, but we were encouraged to partake in the "happy hour" wine and pizza deal in the bar. We moved inside where it was crowded and noisy. We sat at the bar in front of the waiter's station. It took fifteen minutes for us to even be asked for our orders, and the waiter was perfunctory at best when he finally attended to us. We'd been given a wine list with average (8-12 dollars) per glass prices, but after discussing the options with the waiter, we ordered a wine listed on the chalk board. When we wanted a second glass, he again recommended a wine listed on the board without a price. We happily drank the excellent wine, though we were very disappointed in our pizza, which was like greasy fried bread with a few scant mushrooms on top. Before we finished our second glass, the lights went up very bright, and we were abruptly served our check, which was over 80.00 for four happy hour glasses of wine and a small 8.00 pizza. The wine had been over 20.00 a glass! When we said there must have been a mistake, the waiter then produced A DIFFERENT MENU than the one we had initially seen. The entire time the waiter was just barely polite to us and never made eye contact. His disrespect for two women over the age of 25 was barely covered. As the wine was indeed excellent, we paid the bill, but asked to speak the manager. The manager repeatedly said "I'm sorry" in a robotic way, clearly simply trying to end the conversation. This corporate restaurant replaced the beloved neighborhood bistro Heartland, where the bartender would kindly let people finish their wine and appetizers in their own time. Don't be cheated! Stay away from Scusi with a heartless manager, sexist, cheating waiters, and hideously bad greasy food. Real Italian pizza and perfectly fine wine is a mile away at Punch. Go there instead.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathryn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing