We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Food is Fantastic”

Shamrock's Bar and Grill
Ranked #28 of 892 Restaurants in Saint Paul
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
393 reviews
278 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“The Food is Fantastic”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We go to Shamrock's (also called the Irish Nook) when we have a larger group. Ted Casper and Mike Runyon also own the original The Nook which has been featured on several TV shows. When there are only two or three of us we go to The Nook, but it is too small for groups of seven or more. Shamrock's was ruled "Best Juicy & Wings" in 2010 by none other than Supreme Court Justice Clarence Thomas.
Much of Shamrock's menu is identical to The Nook including the Nook's version of the Juicy Lucy called the Juicy Nookie. Shamrock's does have some some additional Irish style food such as Irish Fries consisting of waffle fries covered with corned beef, sauerkraut, swiss cheese and thousand island dressing. We tried it this trip. It sounds delicious and tastes even better than it sounds. We also tried deep fired cheese curds which were as good as any we have ever had - and we try them everywhere we can.
For the thrill seekers both The Nook and Shamrock's have the "Hot Damn Wing Challenge." Eat 14 wings covered with their signature Hot Damn sauce in 20 minutes without water or dipping sauce and receive a free t-shirt and you picture on the wall. I accomplished this feat about a year ago. It is not as bad as it is made out, but it IS hot.
This trip, in addition to cheese curds and Irish fries, our group had the St. Patrick's Day Reuben Burger (made by special order with a Juicy Nookie burger rather than a regular patty) with cole slaw on the side; the O'Patty Melt Burger with sweet potato fries, the Burger of the Month which this month was a patty with mozzarella cheese, fresh basil and a balsamic reduction, and the children had corn dog bites and fries. The women had wine and the men had tap beer. Everything was fantastic! The cole slaw had cilantro added to it which was different, but very tasty.
The only problem we had was somewhat slow (though very friendly and accommodating) service - but the place was very busy. The service is normally
This place is a must visit if you are in the St. Paul area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jcstich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    56
    16
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stuffed cheeseburger!”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We went for lunch and had the "juicy nookie" cheeseburger. It comes with a warning that hot cheese will ooze out of the center of the burger...but not too worry...it's a well designed patty and though simple...it's delicious. One of the best burgers I've eaten...real quality ingredients. There are several varieties of the stuffed burger as well as a huge list of different forms of the classic hamburger/cheeseburger. Hand-cut fries are an absolute must. They come seasoned with a white, tasty dipping sauce...you could use ketchup but we didn't...the dip was great! Eclectic decor inside...complete with an Elvis mannequin...Shamrocks has a long bar and a performance stage.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndyL32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“First time was fine”
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Our group of 5 eat at Shamrocks on 7th on Saturday night. For three of us, it was out first time here. It was quite busy and we waited about to be seated. I'd describe the place as a old style pub/sports bar. Some outdoor seating and several separated rooms on the inside; it appears to be a big place. The server answered several questions about menu options for us. The wait to be served the food took longer than expected. Our group ordered the Capri burger (special), the Paul Molitor, the Juicy Nookie, another burger, and a build your on flatbread pizza w/ side salad. The food was hyped up my the person who selected the place... So my expectations were pretty high. I'd say the food was average. The fries were not cooked thoroughly and the potatoes were still a bit hard on the inside. The burgers were smaller than I anticipated but tasted fine. The flatbread pizza portion was large. The side salad was iceberg lettuce with a couple of cucumber, tomato slices and croutons. Dinner for 5 of us = $58 + tip.

Positives: interesting atmosphere, friendly staff, can accommodate large groups, free parking options, well lit neighborhood at night, live music (the band hadn't started yet but they were setting up when we left).

Negatives: It was extremely noisy in the place, the middle bar room was painful on the ears it was so loud; mostly from a large group in the center of the room with loud drunk men... The Capri burger, limited special, was described as have fresh mozzarella, basil, tomato and balsamic reduction... The tomato was MIA. When we saw the waitress again we were nearly finished with our food, so I just asked her to inform the cooks they forgot to add that key component.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MNSandSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemson, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Spot for a "Juicy Lucy"”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We found Shamrock's to be a great find. The food is very good. All of the members of our party seemed very satisfied. I personally had the Juicy Nookie, which is their version of the Juicy Lucy. Lots of cheese embedded in the a large, well-prepared burger.

The service was very thorough and friendly, The restaurant decor was pleasant. It is a popular location. Parking is limited but there is after-hours parking at a nearby bank parking lot

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelinMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Welcoming and attentive service!”
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in today for my first time. Welcoming greeting from the Hostess. I sat in the section with Katie Schille as my server. She was excellent! She recommended the MN Wild Wings and they were fabulous!! Go to Shamrocks!! You won't be disappointed!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shamrock's Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Shamrock's Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing