We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely”
Review of Hotel 340

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel 340
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2013

As reviewed, a unique, boutique style hotel, very well positioned for all downtown St Paul has to offer. We attended "Prarie Home Companion" and Rhubarb Show @ Fitzgerald Theatre, and grabbed a meal at Mickey's Diner. Car stayed in the parkade!

Breakfast is pretty pedestrian...same as all the small chain hotels. Kureig coffee maker in room produces great coffee. Nice bedding. Our room had a separate shower room...this room, 1118, was obviously 2 rooms at one time...bathrooms are small, unique.

This is a heritage building, so there are bound to be issues with plumbing. The water from the shower just STOPPED, mid lather. As reported, another guest had issues with water pressure....too many people showering at once?

Staff were lovely, helpful. Will be interested to seehowthis lovely spot evolves.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank frayaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (425)
There are newer reviews for Hotel 340
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

306 - 312 of 425 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2013

This trip was a pleasure trip that turned into a experimental cancer treatment trip (but thats not the point of this story)..
SO, lets talk 340! from the vintage canopy donning the front door to the chain lift system still used in the windows . this building is authentic. this building is a little spooky one of the other reviews stated. But its an amazing spook. Its dark with a little bit of macabre.. But within the macabre there are the welcoming signs of the pineapple. i had the pleasure of staying in a lovely room facing the First National Bank Building (which has always been a fav of mine). I had a two room king suite. 4 poster bed in large bright beautiful bedroom (again with windows that open with those authentic window chains) The bathroom was a little small but the the fixtures, stone work and bright feel made up for the lack of space. the living area was beaming with natural light. the kitchenette had all the normal items the cabinetry was a lovely dark brown with black counter tops. very comfortable, with a hint of elegance. all around just so very pleasant. i had to leave for a night (thats tonight) because i hadnt booked and extended stay was playing it by ear and tonight they were booked solid... I even offered to stay in the lobby along side the magnificent fireplace, grand piano belting out the good ol' crooners that we all love. the adjectives that come to mind when describing Hotel 340's lobby are strong, masculine with a hint of the macabre, sturdy, timeless. BUT the cherry on top seriously was the staff.. A+++ jessica you're the bees knees! I am staying tonight at the Crowne Plaza (part of the IHG Group) which i am a priority member and believer you me...... I AM RUNNING back to the 340 as soon as i can. This hotel was more expensive, nasty dirty, lacking personality, rude, and as the gentlemen at the front desk said " we are a convention hotel". i've taken 15+ pics of my room here at the plaza, and for being a hotel recognized world wide certainly has dropped the ball on so many levels. The Hotel 340 would fill the shoes of a world recognize hotel so much better than the "plaza" Book the 340, enjoy the amazing architecture, history and peace and quiet! oh so quiet!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank crystal h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

No-frills hotel (yes they have wi-fi and tv) in a great location. Beds were comfy and the room was clean. The two bed/ two bath room was perfect for two friends traveling together and the nightly rate was very reasonable. The room was large (necessarily since the two beds are 1K, 1Q). The shower in one of the two baths had NO water pressure, but the other shower was fine. The room also had a refrigerator and Keurig coffee maker.The coffee pods provided with the coffee maker were both decaf, but a thoughtful "comes in a creamer-like container for portion control" Black Coffee Shot of caffeine was provided.
We did not know breakfast was included, and that was convenient, provided in a breakfast room on the same floor as our room (10th). The breakfast was pretty bad, but you could get mediocre coffee and Yoplait, so it was better than nothing.
The lobby is a great space and it is wonderful that this building is being re-purposed in part as a hotel.
The minimal staff is very pleasant.
It helps if you have a sense of humor, since there is a bit of quirkiness here. No vacancy for stuffed shirts.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank longandwindingroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

My daugher and I stayed here on a Sunday evening in September. It has a beautiful lobby - a bit dark, though. The front desk staff were kind. While we were there the hotel seemed empty - we only saw 4 other guests (in the breakfast room) and none on our floor (the 11th). Our room #1102 was TINY - but, clean. The bed was comfortable and TV had a huge screen (almost too overwhelming for the room) - so may or maynot like that. I opened window for some air and the window had no screen or bars. It was a large window and seemed unsafe. The closet in the room was large, but had a hole in the wall with a little door, which I jokingly tried opening and to my amazement it did open. It appeared to be an old coal shute or a laundry shute? That was spooky, a person could climb in it or fall down it. A child could easily have fallen down into it. Again, our floor the 11th - appeared to have been vacant - which meant it was quiet - eerily quiet. I would not recommend staying in Room #1102 - perhaps a bigger room would be better if two travelers. The breakfast room provided adequate food, but was not serviced by an employee - so it would be nice if every once awhile someone would have cleaned off the tables, etc... Parking across the street was O.K. - but, the attendant seemed puzzled when I handed her my pass from the hotel (for the reduced rate of $17 per 24 hours) - but, did accept the pass. The other thing to note is there is no Hotel sign outside of the hotel. Would we stay threre again ... not sure, but if so - will stay in a larger room - I think we must have had the smallest room in the hotel.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more and don't get the cheapest/smallest room .. you get what you pay for! Be careful...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JajaRobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Amazing building, great location but a lot of loose ends. Clean linens on the bed but overall the room wasn't real clean. Lots of little maintenance work undone. It was hot as hell when we were there and the air conditioner in the bedroom sounded like it was on its last legs.

Breakfast room was not taken care of and it was hard to find some basics like coffee. Or a table to sit down at.

Positive was the great location. Some great food nearby and a little park where you can sit by the river.

You park across the street. It was discounted but really a pain if you had to go in and out a lot. Staff there always seemed confused on what we had paid for but they aren't hotel staff. To bad they don't have their own parking.

Didn't feel like it was worth the price but may try it again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emolbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Step through the entrance into an amazing lobby - grand piano, huge fireplace, coaches, space and space. The staircase ascends to a 2nd floor overlooking the whole view. Very nice when coming in from the busy streets.
The staff were very friendly and approachable. They were willing to help solve any problem we had (which we didn't have, but they were ready to help out).
The beds were amazingly comfortable, probably the most comfy I have slept on in a hotel in years. And the breakfast area was set up to easily meet other people if you want to.
Great historic building, wonderfully renovated to today's standards.

Room Tip: We had a two king bed suite. Lots of space. We didn't really use the kitchenette since we were o...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DJames37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We enjoyed our small, hardwood-floored, efficiency room in this cool old hotel. It was very clean and everything worked well. The location was perfect for a concert at the Excel center and getting a room for less than $100 in this downtown location felt like a good deal. Parking was $17 in a nearby ramp that supposedly allowed unlimited in-and-out.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sstukel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Paul hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place St Paul / Downtown
0.2 mi away
The Saint Paul Hotel
The Saint Paul Hotel
#3 of 16 in Saint Paul
727 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Saint Paul Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Downtown St. Paul
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
#9 of 16 in Saint Paul
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 340? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 340

Address: 340 Cedar St, Saint Paul, MN 55101-1100
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Price Range: $109 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 340 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 340 is a 56 room boutique hotel in the heart of downtown St. Paul. The hotel is housed in the original University Club building and is listed on the historical register. There are numerous restaurants and bars within walking distance as well as access to the river walk which provides stunning views of the Mississippi river as well as the downtown area. All of the rooms at Hotel 340 include updated flat screen televisions as well as hardwood floors throughout. The hotel's suites feature kitchenettes. Many rooms also boast a river or city view to add to your experience. The hotel lobby provides a spacious area with luxurious couches and chairs to relax in while enjoying a drink from the hotel bar. The second floor mezzanine level provides access to the St. Paul sky-way system which allows for indoor travel to various St. Paul businesses and local event spaces. The Saint Paul Athletic Club is also located within the building and is available to our hotel guests free of charge (MUST BE 18 OR OLDER)! Luxurious steam showers, saunas and a beautifully tiled lap pool is also available to use during their normal business hours. And if you have any extra time, please inquire about their fitness and yoga sessions during your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel 340 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing