We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A little dark and spooky, but the welcome is warm and bright” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 340

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel 340
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Saint Paul
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A little dark and spooky, but the welcome is warm and bright”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

If you like historic buildings that resonate with a spooky past yet offer the amenities of a modern hotel, yo will love Hotel 340.

The lobby is dark and cozy, especially the front desk. Walk into the main seating area of the lobby and you can enjoy a large and impressive fireplace and beautiful columns and hight ceilings.


We were unexpectedly upgraded to a suite which made our stay super nice. Our bright large room offered a sitting area and two separate bathrooms...which was great since we had to get ready for a wedding so there was not fighting over the mirror and the sink. There was also a mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker. One thing seriously missing, however, was a wardrobe long enough to hang a regular length dress or pair of pants in. Also, it would be smart o provide suitcase racks so one does not have to lug their suitcase on top of the nice wood dresser and risk scratching it.

The front desk staff could not have been more helpful and accommodating. The gratis continental breakfast was adequate and welcome. Friends staying in the nearby St Paul Hotel had to go out to get something to eat or even a cup of coffee.

Bus 54 starts at the airport and practically stops in front of Hotel 340 making a taxi unnecessary and we took that form of transportation both ways. At a $1.75, it was efficient and cheap and reliable.

Thanks Hotel 340 for helping us get acquainted with St Paul, Minnesota.

Room Tip: Upper levels have better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jackied881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    105
    44
    16
    6
See reviews for
59
131
25
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stayed at this hotel and had a great experience! The staff was very friendly and helpful and the room was a corner room with great views of the city and was very nice and comfortable and clean and quiet. The hotel is close to many restaurants within walking distance. Would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This recently opened gem of a hotel shares a ca. 1917 building with the Saint Paul Athletic Club, both institutions opening in early 2013. The building they jointly occupy was originally an exclusive hotel, and the lobby, bar, and ballrooms retain original decoration, lending an air of early 20th Century elegance. (One ballroom retains its original function and is available as a wedding, etc., venue, while the other has been very tastefully modified into one of the most elegant exercise rooms one might imagine.) The Butler's Cafe, shared by both facilities, was unfortunately not open while we were there, but the room is attractive. Relaxing in the lobby in the evening was almost a Downton Abbey experience, especially with the clerk doing double duty as attentive bartender,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaverMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland suburbs of DC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The first indication that this hotel is different was that there was no doorman. But it struck me as rather bizarre that the front desk was deserted. This is supposed to be a boutique hotel?? What happened to the warm, personal welcome?? There was a sign on the desk saying that staff had been called away and providing a telephone number for immediate service. I called the number, but it was busy. Later I learned that the front desk clerk doubles as the bartender in the lobby bar (diagonally across the large lobby). The lobby itself was rather elegant, but totally silent and rather tomb-like.

Our room was small and had a single queen-sized bed plus only a single chair, which meant that I had to sit on the floor while my wife took the chair. The floor was hardwood (actually, it probably was Pergo), and there were no rugs.

The room was in need of redecoration. There was peeling and scraped paint in the bathroom, and the caulk around the electrical outlet was decomposing. A couple of metal fittings in the bathroom were not secured (e.g., the toilet paper holder).

There was a corner desk but no room for a desk chair. Still, there wouldn't have been much room to work at the desk, as there was a monstrous flat-screen TV and a cable box floating low over it. There was a shortage of electrical outlets; all four on one side of the room were taken up by the TV, lamp and clock, and the power cords to these appliances were stretched inelegantly across the wall.

On the plus side, the bed -- though small -- was quite comfortable. The room was reasonably quiet, although the air conditioner fan was fairly loud. The plumbing worked OK, though it took some experimentation to figure out how to work the multi-nozzle shower. Breakfast was adequate but certainly not elegant. It was comparable to what I've seen at typical roadside motels.

The biggest plus of the Hotel 340 was its location. We were within walking distance of several buildings that we'd wanted to visit (Landmark Center and the Courthouse/City Hall), and there were plenty of restaurants in the vicinity.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bassrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers, Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Love the bed and breakfast type feel to this beautiful hotel! The staff (especially Sarah) were extremely willing to go above and beyond from the moment we walked up to the front desk until the time we checked out the next day. Our room was very unique and spacious and had all the amenities of home. We are looking forward to staying again so that we can investigate more of what the hotel has to offer!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dms9116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Recently a friend and I came to St. Paul to see a show at the Fitzgerald. Hotel 340 was AFFORDABLE, comfortable and in a great walking distance to so many fun places in St. Paul. The concierge Sarah was above and beyond helpful with answering our questions about St. Paul and meeting our every need. She was friendly, approachable and even a great bartender at night ; )

The morning breakfast is really great and the coffee is HOT!

Please, on your visit to St. Paul, make sure you stay at Hotel 340 - affordable, comfortable and a fun experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mpls,Mn USA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

My husband and I just spent a wonderful night in this beautiful vintage hotel. Upon entering the lobby you can see the loving care that has been given to this landmark building, it was built in 1917 and is gorgeous. Our room was huge and decorated in simple yet rich furnishings. It was impeccably clean. The bed was so comfy and I especially liked the soft cream-colored sheets. They have thought of it all, including an Mp3 player and Keurig coffeemaker. We didn't visit the bar but it is lovely and had a lot of great looking cocktails.
From the reservation process to check-in the staff was wonderful and very helpful. Shout out to Sarah! She arranged transport to WA Frost for us for dinner and it was effortless. Thanks to Hamilton Limo Service.
If you are looking for a great city getaway or have to visit for business, there isn't a better choice than Hotel 340. We are going to make this an annual tradition!

Room Tip: We loved our room but Sarah told us that they all have unique features so ask about that when you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hercale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Paul hotels
0.2 mi away
The Saint Paul Hotel
The Saint Paul Hotel
#1 of 17 in Saint Paul
4.5 of 5 stars 654 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Saint Paul Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
#7 of 17 in Saint Paul
3.5 of 5 stars 280 reviews
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Capitol Ridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 340? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 340

Property: Hotel 340
Address: 340 Cedar St, Saint Paul, MN 55101-1100
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 340 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 340 is a 56 room boutique hotel in the heart of downtown St. Paul. The hotel is housed in the original University Club building and is listed on the historical register. There are numerous restaurants and bars within walking distance as well as access to the river walk which provides stunning views of the Mississippi river as well as the downtown area. All of the rooms at Hotel 340 include updated flat screen televisions as well as hardwood floors throughout. The hotel's suites feature kitchenettes. Many rooms also boast a river or city view to add to your experience. The hotel lobby provides a spacious area with luxurious couches and chairs to relax in while enjoying a drink from the hotel bar and the mezzanine level provides access to the St. Paul skyway system which allows for indoor travel to various St. Paul businesses for all of our visiting business travelers. The Saint Paul Athletic Club is also located within the building and is available to hotel guests for a nominal fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel 340 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing