We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hope it stays this way”
Review of The Blue Door Pub

The Blue Door Pub
Ranked #22 of 895 Restaurants in Saint Paul
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Pub, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch
Minnesota, USA
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Hope it stays this way”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I hope this small, local establishment stays this way. The juicy burgers are some of the best around. Beer selection is great. The atmosphere is warm and cozy. The service was attentive, but not invasive.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MinnTraveler3693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    85
    22
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
367 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT PUB great place to spend a cold afternoon GET THE FRIES”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I saw this place on Diners, Drive-ins and Dives and happened to be in Eagan MN so took the short drive over one cold Sunday afternoon. What a fun place to spend an afternoon with friends. The wait was about 45 minutes but it was St Pattys day so not to bad I think. There are several antique shops you can walk to while waiting since there is no room inside to wait. This place has about 12 booths/tables so very cozy. The waitress was EXCELLENT. The burgers were fresh and perfect. The fries were also excellent, crisp and hand cut. You must try the fried green beans. The $2 happy hour beer has a large selection to choose from. The fish tacos looked great and I will try them on my next visit. Do not be put off by the small interior!! This place is a must stop if in the area!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank glendale215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Burgers and Beer”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Tiny, hole in the wall spot. Expect a short wait even on a Tuesday night at 6 PM. Long standing birthday group celebrated 60+ years, The six of us all enjoyed our burgers (everyone tried something different according to taste: Cajun, Hawaiian, Jiffy Burger, Marian Park, Erin, Traditional). Sides included: tator tots, green beans, fries. Everyone pleased with their tap beers or wine. Waitress was first rate! No hurry, informative and engaging.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 55plustraveler2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The place I take friends visiting MSP for burgers”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Not sure which burger I would really recommend, because they all has a signature taste. Please do yourself a favor and buy an appetizer of cheese curds, they are mighty tasty. I know there are debates of where the home of the Juicy Lucy is, but this place brings a level of sophistication to the Juicy Lucy that the others don't. Careful though, the wait can be long, the place is small!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elgmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Jiffy Burger is heaven”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is a great burger place, probably my favorite in the Twin Cities. It is better than Matt's Bar, and it is far better than The 5/8 Club. Sorry, but it is. The Jiffy Burger is so good I never order anything else. Peanut butter, bacon, pepper jack. So amazing. We also like the Frogtown Wings, which are sesame and peanut sauce flavored, and are really tasty. Can't really go wrong with their Tots, which taste homemade, fresh cut fries, or tempura green beans for a side. Great beer list as well. This is a smaller place, but the new Minneapolis location is double the size.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wuzed111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Door Pub also viewed

 

Been to The Blue Door Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing