We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Quick Lesson in Minnesota History” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Minnesota State Capitol

Minnesota State Capitol
Ranked #15 of 116 things to do in Saint Paul
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Note: The Minnesota State Capitol is currently closed to the public through early 2017 for restoration.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A Quick Lesson in Minnesota History”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Our group decided to tour the Minnesota State Capitol, a beautiful looking edifice. We arrived in time for the last tour of the day and were taken on a 45 minute tour. We got to go outside on the deck surrounding the dome and were able the view the golden statue placed there.

For the wrestling fans there is a large portrait of Jesse Ventura, a one time governor and former SEAL on the first floor.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank evanjva1Usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    55
    23
    10
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

I love the lead up to the Capitol! It’s on top of a hill and there is lovely green space, trees, and flowers all around. The building is beautiful. It was a really hot day when we walked there to check it out and we were happy to see there were street food vendors located outside and we got some water. We didn't have time to go inside but I would like to do that on my next visit! I recommend visiting!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Bridget T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
159 reviews
127 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Nicely done”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

I've been to almost 30 state capitals over the years, and visited many state capitols (amazing what a difference a letter can make). Minnesota has another good one.

It has the usual features. The building is up on a hill overlooking St. Paul. It is the setting for the legislature and the state's Supreme Court as well as some other offices. And, it is made of all sorts of fancy marble with elaborate designs. No matter where you go, it's always impressive.

The Governor also has a reception room in the building, which sounds well done. Alas, it was closed on the Saturday afternoon of our visit. We missed the guided tour as well. It's said to be free but the "suggested" donation is $5 per person.

By the way, there was one name I recognized in the building. Alan Page is a judge on the Supreme Court. Football fans remember him from his days with the Minnesota Vikings.

St. Paul is a little more working-class than Minneapolis, and it was nice to see a little of the "other" Twin City. Wonder if I'll ever make it to Pierre?

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BBailey182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
182 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Very nice building and grounds. We just started visiting state Capitol buildings and this is a nice one but not at the top of our list.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JJ R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“What a sight!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Went downtown to the Capital Building and it was gorgeous!! Hardly anybody there so was able to take pictures without people or cars in the way. Groundskeepers were making the place look fantastic and the flowers definitely made it beautiful.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Minnesota State Capitol also viewed

 

Been to Minnesota State Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing