We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Limited viewing of rooms” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of James J Hill House

James J Hill House
Ranked #5 of 116 things to do in Saint Paul
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rugged stone, massive scale, fine detail and ingenious mechanical systems recall the powerful presence of James J. Hill, builder of the Great Northern Railway. Guides lead tours that help you imagine family and servant life in the Gilded Age mansion, the setting of the public and private lives of the Hill family. The James J. Hill House is a National Historic Landmark.
Ames, Iowa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Limited viewing of rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

The tour of the house was interesting. All of the furniture is gone. They only let you see half of the rooms. Many of the rooms are off limits, but if you want to see them you can see them if you spend money and come back for another "Nooks and Crannies" tour. This seems a little like a tease! Would recommend it, but would not put it on the top of the list.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank jholmgre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    88
    16
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

A gorgeous house with tours led by docents who love what they do. Unbelievable condition. JJ Hill was undoubtedly a genious and his house proves it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Linthead69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“James J. Hill Mansion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Excellent docent led tour. Great to hear the old organ.
James Hill contributed so much to that era of American History

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank CBecky327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
116 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Interesting history of James J Hill”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed the tour of the James J. Hill mansion. This was my first trip to Minneapolis/St. Paul and I had never heard of James J. Hill. It was interesting to hear about this successful businessman and his family, and see the mansion in which they lived. It would be nice if it were furnished. Interesting as it is, it would be better were it furnished, rather than mostly empty. It is still a great tour. Summit Avenue is an interesting stroll in itself, being home to many beautiful homes.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank SolowTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing historical site owned by an inovative man.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

James J Hill was a railroad innovator that changed the area. His house is well preserved and for a mechanical geek like me, absolutely fascinating. How they did the heating, the kitchen, some of the mechanical areas was so interesting. The woodworking was so well done, true craftsmen built that place. I keep telling my wife we need to go back, and we will.

Helpful?
Thank vintnerdons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed James J Hill House also viewed

 

Been to James J Hill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing