We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Local Restaurant”
Review of Blue Door Pub

Blue Door Pub
Ranked #4 of 42 Nightlife in Saint Paul
Attraction details
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Local Restaurant”
Reviewed November 13, 2011

We visited here recently on a Friday night. We were told the wait would be 45 minutes, but because we had heard good things, we decided to wait it out. We ordered beers and found a spot to stand that was semi-out of the way. The place is Tiny so unless you can find room in their back games area - you're always a bit in the way. While the wait was what they said it would be, once we were seated the service was friendly and efficient. I had the fish tacos - which were fantastic. Some of the best in St. Paul. My boyfriend had a veggie burger which he also loved. We also shared some cheese curds - which I would say were well above average. While the wait is annoying - we thought it was worth it and take out is available. If you leave out the alcohol - this place is a steal too.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank MLM7886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    11
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
183 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Small, crowded and average”
Reviewed October 18, 2011

The Blue door is really small and therefor crowded on the weekends. It does have outdoor seating (which is nice) however, you aren't allowed to have alcoholic beverages while seated outside - booooo! The staff was really helpful and personable but the food (peanut butter burger - yuck! and the bluesy) was just average. There are many other restaurants in the Twin Cities with better burgers.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Caterer4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Overratted, average burgers & fries joint”
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Always packed with very long waits on weekends. Limited bar - beer and wine selections only. Small place made famous by local paper reviews. Outdoor seating is limited to only a few tables and do not offer alcohol. My burger was ok (jalapenos and cheese stuffed) and fries were ok. The tator tots are better that their fries. My wife's burger was undercooked even though she requested well-done. Her sister's was well done and she did not request it. (I HATE the trendy restaurant wait staff that does not write down your order - I have seen too many mistakes over the years to understand any advantage to not take a written order at tableside...).

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank old_metalhed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
171 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Short wait followed by delicious food.”
Reviewed December 26, 2010

We went to the restaurant after seeing it on Diners, Drive Ins and Dives and weren't disappointed. The food was as delicious as the show made it look. I had the traditional Blucy-juicy lucy filled with blue cheese and garlic. My fiance had the Cajun Blucy loaded with pepper jack cheese and diced jalapenos. Mine was delicious. I tried a bite of his too and was happy to report it was also excellent. There are a lot of different burgers on the menu with a great variety beyond the traditional juicy lucy (burgers stuffed with cheese only). Rather than getting the tator tots or fries where we could get anywhere, we opted for a side of Spam Bites. Get over what you think about Spam. If you didn't know any better, especially with this recipe, you would just think it was ham. The restaurant dices Spam and pickels, wraps them in cream cheese, breads them with crushed chips and crackers and fries them. It kind of tastes like those ham-pickel roll-ups until you dip them in the scrumptious chili lime sauce. Awesome!

The only thing some may view as a negative on this local gem is the size. We arrived around 1 p.m. on a Friday the weekend after the snowstorm that collapsed the Metrodome roof, struggled to find parking and had to find room to squeeze in and wait for about 10 minutes until a table opened up. During less-inclimate weather, easier street parking may have been available and standing outside would have been an option. My fiance and I actually sat at the bar where the staff was very friendly and conversational. This place is small and I'm guessing you'll have a short wait whenever you go based on the size and apparently growing popularity but there's a reason-it's worth it.

Helpful?
Thank Diamond_Debutante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Theeee BEST burger you will”
Reviewed March 6, 2009

It truly is the best burger I've ever had! The fries are great also. I will keep going back : - )))

Helpful?
Thank jillib63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Door Pub also viewed

 

Been to Blue Door Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing