We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Tween kids loved pool/spa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Capitol Ridge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Capitol Ridge
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Saint Paul
Iowa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Tween kids loved pool/spa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Liked: comfy beds, frig and microwave in room, nice pool area and spa, location, offer beer and a decent house wine in restaurant/bar, value, quality maid service
Not impressed: restaurant on premises is cafeteria-grade quality (and sometimes nobody is around to serve you), hotel is updating (linens), but is still teetering in the 90s in places.
Pool note: There is a nice spa, sauna, and large pool (about 30 ft. long) for laps. The depth goes from 3 ft (ladder, no steps) to 9 ft. We let our kids dive from the deep end although "no diving" signs were in the deep end. There is also a small, round kids' wading pool (about a foot deep).

Room Tip: One side faces parking lot and sears (faces the capital, but you can't see capital b/c of other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IowaSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    113
    59
    35
    26
See reviews for
122
62
24
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, USA
Level Contributor
100 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The Best Western Kelly Inn falls into the “generic highrise by the interstate” category of hotels. With the right expectations, it can be an adequate place to stay.

We were in town for a wedding, which happened to be the same weekend as the MLB All-Star Game, so everything was more expensive than usual. We used Hotwire to save money, and were placed at the Kelly Inn.

* What I Liked *
The Kelly Inn is located near the State Capital, across the interstate from downtown St. Paul. It is near both I-94 and 35-E, so you can get to many places in the east metro fairly quickly. There is a hotel shuttle that can take you to downtown.

There is ample free parking, and the beds were relatively new and comfortable. The hotel seems clean and competently run. There is free wi-fi.

The new Green Line train has a station about a block away, so you can walk to the station and take the train to downtown Minneapolis. We did that, and it was fun.

* What I Didn’t Like *
You always read about thin walls and loud neighbors on Trip Advisor reviews, but this was one of my first personal experiences with it. Yes, the walls are very thin. Our neighbors talked fairly loudly in their room one night, and our sleep was disrupted. They were not playing music or partying, just talking, but the noise came right through.

If you care about décor, you probably won’t like the dated wallpaper or the cottage cheese ceilings or the low bathroom ceilings. I don’t really care about that, but it’s something to consider.

Otherwise, the Kelly Inn is just generic and plain. It is not the kind of place I normally stay, and is not located near anywhere I wanted to go, but it worked all right for our needs. It lacks character, but you don’t expect character at the Kelly Inn. It was reasonably priced, particularly in comparison to the hotels in downtown Mpls where I wanted to stay.

If you have business at the State Capitol or want a relatively central location for a family trip to the Twin Cities, the Kelly Inn should be fine. I didn’t like it as much as most reviewers here, but it met my needs.

Room Tip: The southside rooms have views of Interstate 94 and downtown St. Paul. The northside rooms have a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brewbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Two friends and I ate in this hotel's on-site restaurant, the Sweetwater Grille & Bar.
When first entering it smelled of old grill grease; we stayed anyway but should not have.
I ordered the beef taco salad. The bowl, itself, was thin and dark and looked as if it was soaked in oil. The beef had no seasoning, it was just browned hamburger. On it was finely shredded lettuce, a few chopped tomatoes, a small amount of shredded yellow cheese, 6 slices of jalapenos, a large spoonful of sour cream and a small plastic cup of salsa. It had no flavor except for the bite of the jalapeno. I tasted, but did did not eat, the greasy bowl it was in. $7.95
Another friend ordered the Cuban sandwich of pork, chicken, dill pickles with aiole sauce on a long ciabatta bun. The pork was a round, deli/lunchmeat slice of pork, not juicy Cuban pulled pork. The aiole was mayo with chopped garlic in it. $10.95
The third friend got a Philly cheese on a ciabatta bun. She upgraded from chips or fries to onion rings. She ate half her sandwich. She said it was okay. $12.95 as she ordered it.
We will never go back.
This hotel is located on the edge of a mall with Sears and it's parking lot on one side. Very convenient to the state capitol, the Minnesota History Center and the newly-opened Green Line commuter train.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kattzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthDakota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This hotel is very nice. The location was great for us since the addition of the metro green line. The parking lot has plenty of room. The outdoor bar area was somewhat of a mess, newspapers blown around and other garbage. The rooms were clean and the layout was good. Bed was comfortable, nice sheets and blackout curtains. Not much traffic noise. Lobby was very well appointed. Bar and restaurant were closed when we were there on the 4th of July.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank slick605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manheim
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

On par with most decent hotels, this wasn't lacking in any particular
area, nor shone extra brightly in any either. The room was clean, the
bathroom was clean, the beds were comfortable and gave a good night's
rest. The location is near the Roman Catholic Cathedral (within walking
distance) and you can get right on the highway. But it's not located in an
overly scenic part of town. The hotel parking lot entrance was hard to see
the first time we entered, it shares a very large lot with another
business but there is no cross over area so we had to circle out on the
road quick. The view from our "back side" room was only the roof area -
which wasn't a problem as we weren't there to see the hotel; although my
parents had a great view of the cathedral from the front side of the
hotel. There was no discernable noise from the road or outside in our
room, it was quiet. The general condition and age of the building is good
and it seems everything is kept in pretty good condition.
The pool area is indoor. The pool is spacious enough for a large group and
fine for lap swimming. The room doesn't have a lot of windows so there is
not a lot of sunlight and there are not a lot of internal lights so the
room seemed "dim".
The restaurant area in the hotel was very understaffed, one morning no
waiters showed up for work and there was no breakfast in the hotel. We
found a good restaurant after driving, but if our schedule had been tight
we would not have had time to search the area for a place to eat. I won't
ding them much on service since it's likely to not happen that often.

Room Tip: The front side, toward Rt 94, has a nice view of the Cathedral and City Capital.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeMansGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We booked this hotel while my daughter was admitted to Gillette Childrens hospital. They were very courteous and gracious right from the time of booking our room. Making sure to offer us a hospital discount. Our room was perfect size and beds were very comfortable. It had a great view of downtown St Paul and the Pillows were super comfy. The coffee was very good. Lighting was good and rooms were very clean. We had breakfast at their restaurant and it was a buffett, It was good quality and we enjoyed it alot. Hotel was in an excellent location in proximity to the downtown and had a nice pool and amenities there.Only downfall I could think of to this hotel is that there isn't a complimentary breakfast but there is a nice restaurant on the property so a good breakfast is still offered. The people in the lobby were super friendly and couldn't be nicer, we had wanted popcorn late at night and the vending machine was all out so the desk person got us one. Was very kind of them. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the downtown St Paul area. They have good staff who are friendly and the rooms are very comfy and clean.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeff n sally c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, United States
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Rooms were fine, but strange people around hotel. Realized that there are offices on 9th and 10th floor of the hotel. Didn't like having to share an elevator with people who were not guests of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saint Paul hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Paul hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel 340
Hotel 340
#3 of 17 in Saint Paul
4.0 of 5 stars 337 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
#7 of 17 in Saint Paul
3.5 of 5 stars 281 reviews
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bandana Square
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown
0.9 mi away
InterContinental Saint Paul Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Capitol Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Capitol Ridge

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Capitol Ridge
Address: 161 Saint Anthony Ave, Saint Paul, MN 55103-2382 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Kelly Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Capitol Ridge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of St. Paul's best hotels, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Capitol Ridge provides lodging accommodations near the Xcel Energy Center, Rivercentre Convention Center, The Minnesota's State Capitol, and the Minnesota State Fairgrounds. We are also convenient to area businesses such as Lawson Software, Ecolab, and 3M and area attractions like the MN Science Museum and the Ordway Theater. When visiting St. Paul, Minnesota make the BEST WESTERN PLUS Capitol Ridge your first choice for St. Paul Minnesota hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Capitol Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Kelly Hotel Saint Paul
Best Western Kelly Hotel
Best Western Saint Paul
Saint Paul Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing