We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big Yes” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salut Bar Americain

Salut Bar Americain
Reserve with OpenTable
Salut Bar Americain is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #34 of 876 Restaurants in Saint Paul
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $40
Cuisines: French, American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Milton Avenue
Transit: Easy access via the main bus line off of Grand Avenue.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Big Yes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

I really enjoyed the food here. I had the steak sandwich which was fantastic. My better half had the Beef Wellington and it was perfect (outside crust light and flaky not soggy like other subpar wellingtons). We also had the Oysters rockefeller and the brussel sprouts -both were amazing especially the sprouts! And the bread......wow. Service very good informative without being pushy and snobbish. Will definitely be going back here......

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dl8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    81
    28
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
106 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Exceeded Expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

First time eat at Salut. Saw 3.5 overall rating on another web site, but our experience was top notch. It was spur of moment decision, and they were already booked, but accepted walk-ins who were willing to wait 20 to 30 minutes. We sat at the bar where a friendly and efficient bartender took care of us. The baked brie cheese appetizer was very well done, and the meatballs were no different. The meatballs had a Moroccan pepper spice which added a unique flavor.

All the entrees we later ordered were excellent. Walleye wrapped in paper; sea bass in pepper and mussel sauce, sea scallops. Our server, Thorne, was very helpful and knowledgeable about the dishes and flavorings. Wine was very reasonable, French baguettes were fresh, and everything was served hot and on time.

Dessert was a pumpkin creme boulet, which was enough for several. Without even asking, Thorne brought spoons and forks for all. My daughter snuck away and told them it was my birthday, and they brought a nice plate of French profiterole (my spelling is probably wrong - cream puffs with whipped cream and chocolate sauce).

There is a convenient parking lot on premise. Overall, an excellent experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidNancyJessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice place for lunch.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

I had a salad that was very good. I was having lunch with a couple of friends and the restaurant didn't rush us out of there as we had a lot to catch up on and stayed a couple of hours. Good service. No hassle about separate checks.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jessica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville
Level Contributor
83 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“French,sort of”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

This is a great place for lunch and dinner. The outdoor patio is wonderful in the summer. The food here is great.

Helpful?
Thank Joelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tsgbhalf
Level Contributor
123 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“First time and quite good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

We had a very nice pre-play dinner as first timers. Now we are wondering why we waited so long to try this good restaurant. Our server, Jeremy was helpful and attentive. Our appetizers and entrees (lobster and scallops) were very good.

Helpful?
Thank tsgbhalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Salut Bar Americain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing