We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Meals at Reasonable Prices” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peking Garden

Peking Garden
Ranked #237 of 877 Restaurants in Saint Paul
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Moorhead, Minnesota
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Meals at Reasonable Prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

My wife, two sons, and I ate at Peking Garden in St. Paul tonight. Our entire experience was very good. Upon our arrival around 6:30 on a Sunday night, the restaurant was about 75% full, which was a good sign.The staff were courteous and very helpful. We asked the waiter to guide us since the menu is quite extensive. He was only to happy to do so. Peking Garden offers both traditional and Americanized Chinese cuisine. We ordered three traditional dishes, and one Americanized dish. The traditional dishes were roast duck, squid in black bean sauce, and walnut shrimp Hong Kong style, The Americanized dish was General Tso chicken. All four dishes were delicious, as we shared them among ourselves, and the portions were ample. We even took some leftovers with us to the hotel. We just had tea and water to drink. The waiter checked back on us, but he was never intrusive. When he brought the bill, the total was $51.11. With a 20% plus tip, we left the restaurant just $63 poorer, palates satisfied, bellies full. We were really pleased with our choice tonight.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Boyd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
55 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Authentic Cantonese Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Please ignore the last 3 reviews that disparaged this restaurant. It is unfortunate that those patrons did not judge the restaurant based on its authentic, freshly prepared dishes that I eat about twice per month. In defense of the restaurant, I highly doubt a very busy and successful business would commonly have gross teapots. Also, most authentic Chinese food is served informally without designated "order" to when a dish comes out. One should specify if they want to guarantee something comes out first. Plus I admit, sometimes this foodie could give a damn about decor and service as long as the food is delicious....this is the perpetual Chinese restaurant problem.

This place would be rated more highly if only Chinese people were writing the reviews. Here are a few authentic items to consider:

1.Lobster with black bean sauce
2. Shredded pork with eggplant and fried tofu (even better as leftovers and huge portion)
3. Beef and vegetable chow fun with gravy (the best in town and MUST be ordered exactly how I wrote it because there are other variations of this dish
4. Salt and pepper scallops

I encourage non-Chinese folks to order multiple dishes and share family-style like this food is meant to be eaten. Skip the lame buffet. Really give it a try! It is affordable too.

Helpful?
Thank Vanessa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
“ALMOST THREW UP!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Was looking for some Chinese and it was pretty late, GREAT that it stays open late. Looked busy so we thought the food was going to be great. We sat down got our tea. Started looking through the menu, everything looked great until my fiancé looked closely at our tea pot! Ugh I almost threw up every where, there was a HUGE booger on it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brittany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Love the food; hate the service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

Ok I used to go to Peking Garden when they were just a wimpy little restaurant next to Arbys. They used to have GREAT SERVICE AND FOOD! but now their service really stinks! They still have the best food on the menu! Its definitely wayyyyy better than the buffet even if its a little pricey but the only thing that keeps me from eating there is the lack of friendliness and service provided by the waitresses. To top it all off there was always a dish that never arrived at our table on time because the waitresses forgets and hand our food to a different table. I love the food but hate the service.

Helpful?
Thank PYxia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afton, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Never Disapointed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

Had lunch on Saturday with friends, and had buffet, all the foods were well presented , hot and tasty. Large variety for all tastes and all that i tried were excellent.
Clean and orderly and well kept up dining areas for the number of people who frequent the business. Have been there several times over last year and never have found things out of order in either service or the food.
Highly recommend it for good foods and off the menu there are many other choices also .

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Orin_K_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peking Garden also viewed

 

Been to Peking Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing