We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“This place leaves a lot to be desired!.....I already wrote a rewiew, you never published it!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cathedral Hill Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Paul
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cathedral Hill Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Cathedral Hill Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Ranked #5 of 8 Saint Paul B&B and Inns
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“This place leaves a lot to be desired!.....I already wrote a rewiew, you never published it!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This place is run by a man and two or three college girls who do the cooking and probably lots more! The owner promised us a senior AARP discount which was not given. He left no indication of where to procure clean towels, Did not have anything on the door to indicate if you wanted your room straightened or sheets cleaned as indicated in an in room binder. The room we had was very small, barely room to move around and cluttered. On a positive note, the college girls who cooked and served breakfast, were very sweet. The food was mediocre @ best but the girl's did a fine job with what thy had available. We saw the owner only upon arrival, then never again during a long w/e stay. The old Victorian house is quite beautiful, but could use some work......We've been to B& B's that were amazing,....this was not!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank karilouilu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hicksville, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This B&B is in a beautifully maintained Victorian home in a great location in Saint Paul. The place is a few blocks from several good restaurants (easy walking distance) and is also close to Summit Avenue noted for its grand Victorian homes.

The B&B is charming, the room was spacious, the bed was comfortable. As another reviewer mentioned, the towels did not match but they were of reasonable quality. They also provided some extra personal items, in case you forgot something.

The breakfasts were excellent and the serving time was flexible, which was great and not always available at B&Bs. We only met our host once or twice, as he was going out of town shortly after we arrived, but his assistants, managing in his stead, were more than adequate and great cooks!

Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justmecpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This home was built in 1896, amazing interior. We stayed in the Coleo room on the main floor. It was comfortable but a little cramped. The breakfast was very good, nothing fancy but different every day and the young lady who did the cooking was very accommodating. The amenities like linens, towels weren't quite up to the standard I expect of a b&b of this calibre . I would still recommend staying here, just don’t expect elegance

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ReginaToby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We were welcomed for a last minute one-night stay and could not have been happier. The 2-room suite was perfect for traveling with our son and the house was very easy to find, even arriving at night. The B&B is in the middle of the Fitzgerald Walking Tour, and a wonderful base for exploring the historic area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelSteb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
146 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the second floor suite recently--very comfortable surroundings, in this distinguished old house. The many rooms are characterized by intricate woodwork dating from a bygone era. Bill Gray, the owner, is hospitable but not intrusive. Breakfast is good and not too much to eat. Plus the guest can specify time and menu! Highly recommended for any one visiting St. Paul.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Ct
Level Contributor
54 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

My son and I were utterly charmed by this wonderful historic house. We were even more delighted with the lovely proprietor, who made us feel completely at home. This is a Victorian mansion filled with gorgeous carved woodwork on a lovely street, a few minutes from Macalester by car. Breakfast was delicious. Warm and welcoming, and totally a pleasure.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor in a lovely twin room; note though that the bathroom was across the ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbeque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Bill Gray, the proprietor is a gem of a person. Hospitable, and a great conversationalist over breakfast. Oh, and the B&B is very elegant, and located in a nice neighborhood. Treat yourself and stay with him.

Room Tip: Choose a second floor room (fewer stairs to deal with)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobbyRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Paul hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel 340
Hotel 340
#3 of 17 in Saint Paul
4.0 of 5 stars 338 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Saint Paul Hotel
The Saint Paul Hotel
#1 of 17 in Saint Paul
4.5 of 5 stars 654 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
#7 of 17 in Saint Paul
3.5 of 5 stars 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
InterContinental Saint Paul Riverfront
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
1.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cathedral Hill Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathedral Hill Bed and Breakfast

Property: Cathedral Hill Bed and Breakfast
Address: 488 Holly Ave, Saint Paul, MN 55102-2206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 1896 Victorian, in the beautifully walkable historic district of St. Paul, combines pure comfort and true elegance. We offer the choice of a hot or self-serve breakfast, as well as high-speed and reliable WiFi and satellite TV. You can also take advantage of a private meeting space in our Victorian parlor. Nearby are historic residential architecture on Summit Avenue, shopping and fine dining on Selby and Grand Avenues, our beautiful downtown, several colleges, and fascinating museums. We're 15 minutes away from the airport, Minneapolis, and the Mall of America. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing