We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots to see and learn”

Minnesota History Center
Ranked #3 of 119 things to do in Saint Paul
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An interactive museum with both permanent and changing exhibits, the Minnesota History Center hosts concerts, lectures, family days and other special events throughout the year. The building is also home to the Minnesota Historical Society library and archives, a research destination for schoolchildren, family historians and academics.
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lots to see and learn”
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

We walked through the Greatest Generation and the Dakota War exhibits, as well as the House one. It was a fun, interesting place to go on a cold winter day. There was a ton of information, almost overwhelmingly so. It seemed to have a lot of materials customized for children, yet the exhibits didn't feel 'dumbed down,' which was nice. I didn't enjoy the emphasis on all of the personal stories - some of that is helpful to make history relatable, but too much of it and it starts (for me) to feel disjointed. But, I would enjoy going again and would recommend it for those looking for something to do with kids and families, couples or anyone interested in history.

Helpful?
1 Thank TriGrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    107
    14
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good for us.”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Lots of local pride and careful attention to the way we lived then. They have been provided with lots of memorabilia and there's an attention to all the communities, large and small. Good vibes. Healthy self-esteem and deserved accomplishments.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Indian War exhibit excellence”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We visited here on the free Tuesday night offering.

After spending the summer visiting all the out state sites, this exhibit really added to our understanding of the circumstances that led to the horrible execution of the 38 men in Mankato more than one hundred years ago.

The photos and historic diaries of the events are enlightening.

The exhibit is on until September, 2013 and so worth seeing. If you come after 5 pm on Tuesday all you have to pay for is parking. Bring lots of quarters for the meters.

The other exhibits looked very interesting but we will return to spend more time on each one rather than be rushed through and over tired.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cecilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Who knew there was so much to Minnesota”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

The Minnesota History Center is the only place I know where you can bring kids of all ages & find something that interests them all. The staff & volunteers are very helpful, the hands on exhibits work wonders with younger kids & my teenager loved the greatest generation exhibit. We were so busy, we never got a chance to visit the cafe or gift shop. The center is located close to the Cathedral & the State Capitol Building in downtown Saint Paul, with easy access to the freeway. It is open late on Tuesday nights to allow those with busy schedules to visit during the week.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ferrytrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Field Trip Fun”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Great time exploring the musuem and the kids loved the Tornado exhibit! I personally like the Walls Could Talk exhibit - very neat!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Minnesota History Center also viewed

 

Been to Minnesota History Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing