We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“75 min wait after placing order. Finally got lousy burger and limp fries.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Galaxy Drive In

Galaxy Drive In
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Saint Louis Park, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“75 min wait after placing order. Finally got lousy burger and limp fries.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

My wife and I tried this place for the 3rd and final time in July. It is such a cute little place, and we love that there is a drive-in so close to our home. Over the last 2 years, it unfortunately has gone from ok to bad. No one seems to be in charge. The waitresses are very sweet, but are mostly very young and don't seem to have any direction or guidance from management. This last time, our order of 2 burgers and 2 fries was lost. After we saw 3 different cars arrive, order, eat, and leave during the time we were waiting for our food, I politely asked our waitress if our order was lost. I got a blank look, and an "ummm." 10 minutes later, I asked again, and she finally acknowledged that she lost our order and it would be ready soon. 15 minutes later, (after watching a couple more burgers and fries go to other tables) we got our food. We would have left, but they make you pay when you order.
It's a drive-in, so we're not looking for a high-end meal, but burgers and fries are deliciously easy. We ended up getting no apology, 2 lousy burgers, and limp under-cooked fries.

Why would we ever go back?
It's a shame because with even so-so service and average food, the cute decor and bright colors would be enough.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank simpletrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    16
    4
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shell Lake, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
247 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Grand kids wanted to go here as it is a cool looking place. Hamburgers were OK, fries were very bad. Service was the highlight! We were offered refills on out drinks, which was nice. We have been there!

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lakerfantoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkins, Minnesota
Level Contributor
121 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Cake Shakes!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

The Galaxy Drive in is a fun place to get some retro food. I grew up going to drive ins and they are few and far between now. Their cake shakes are great, especally the red velvet one.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Suzie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
476 reviews
273 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Come for the vibe, stay for the onion rings and milkshakes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

We went there on a beautiful weekday evening in July. You can sit in your car, at the round swivel stools, or picnic tables with umbrellas. Once you order and start looking around it is a menagerie of kitschy 50s decor, pedal bikes, large chess game, 2 fire pits for smores, cool granite benches, and the typicaly red and blue neon to trim the building. You have to be there to appreciate. The burgers, fries and cheese curds weren't anything special, but very capable using fresh tomatoes and the food was right off the grille. Our group really liked the milk shakes with the big straws and onion rings were a real treat. They do have veggie burgers, all kinds of hot dog styles and wings. The natural gas fire pits were very unique, but we were stuffed, so maybe when it is dark we will be back for some smores. It has a real neighborhood feel and very relaxing to go there.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Veni-vidi-vicidotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota
1 review
“Wow! been here lately?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

We went a couple of years ago and swore we wouldn't go back.
Went last week and were pleasantly surprised! The place is clean, the service super friendly and the food fresh. We'll be back!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank anamarie e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galaxy Drive In also viewed

Saint Louis Park, MN
 
Saint Louis Park, MN
 

Been to Galaxy Drive In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing