We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chinese at its best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Super Moon Buffet

Super Moon Buffet
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Sushi, Japanese, Asian, Mongolian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Former location of Fuddruckers
Minnesota
Level Contributor
81 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Chinese at its best!”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

It was my first visit to the Super Moon Buffet, and simply said, I was impressed. The large granite dragons in front were a nice touch, as were the koi in the ponds at the entrance. However, the food was excellent! As with many Chinese restaurants there were many choices on the buffet, but the steamy hot seafood dishes had me packing my intentions to make careful and limited choices.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PatriciaDiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    30
    18
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very Tasty and Fresh”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have eaten at Super Moon on three occasions. All three experiences have been good. It is a buffet, but seem like it was made fresh to order. I will go back the next time I want great Asian buffet food. They even took our reservation today for 9 of us.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SumaSetch51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
438 reviews
296 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Amazing selection, pretty fresh for a buffet, good taste”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We went there with a group of businesspeople for lunch. It was an easy walk from the office, and there was something for everyone. The variety was really impressive. If you are veg, if you don't eat pork, or whatever your dietary restrictions, you should be able to find something here. The sushi was more like rolls vs. typical sushi or sashimi. But they did have Chinese-style sauteed vegetables that were cooked very nicely and stayed nice even on the steam table. The dining room is large and it can handle big groups easily (though not very privately). The price is pretty good for what you get.
I'd go back on a future visit, probably for lunch or maybe a dinner if I was in a hurry and didn't mind the buffet atmosphere.
One humorous item: there are two stone dragons in the front. Check out the sign on the base that says they will not be responsible for anyone who flies from the dragons! (or something like that... I missed getting a picture of it.)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis Park, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Shouldn't miss”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The pricing is good and there are often coupons in the local ads. The atmosphere is great too with two large Koi fish ponds inside. There is so much selection for food and it was warm. They also have a seperate sushi bar area. Will for sure go back.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Red5032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaska, Minnesota
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Yummy lunch buffet”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Here's the deal: Yes it's just another buffet in some ways. Here is why we love it:
1) Vegetables. They actually have them. Sauteed. And they are good.
2) Huge variety of choices.
3) Huge Variety - need to say it twice
4) coconut shrimp
5) Best interior/atmosphere of any buffet around

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ConnorMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Super Moon Buffet also viewed

 
Saint Louis Park, MN
Golden Valley, MN
 

Been to Super Moon Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing