We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average, but a couple issues”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Springhill Suites Minneapolis West/St. Louis Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This is a typical Springhill Suites, but it seems to be older than most. The good news is they recently replaced the carpets - in fact they were in the midst of it when I was there. So I appreciated the new carpets. The room was a decent size, and the refrigerator is bigger than the usual tiny fridge in most rooms, so that was helpful. The staff was friendly, and the location is good - there are several restaurants nearby, as well as shopping.

On the downside, the air conditioning was horribly loud. While there is a wall thermostat, there is the old style wall unit that actually puts out the cool air. The good news about that is that I like it quite cold, and that style of air can make the room cooler. It started out okay, but during the early part of the night, it suddenly got very loud and had a horrible rattle. I couldn't get it to stop, and ended up having to turn off the air. So all night long, it would get too warm in the room, so it would wake me up and I'd have to turn on the air, which was so loud it kept me awake. Then I'd turn off the air, sleep for a while until it became too warm, and would start the process all over again. I finally feel asleep, and about 5:30 in the morning, the person in the room next to me turned on the shower - and WOW - it was so loud! Bottom line - the rooms are not insulated against sound well, and the issue of the loud air needs to be addressed. If you can sleep through anything - you should be good!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WJ2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 254 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2013

Staff helpful with our planning. Traveled to Target Field for a game by cab, which they called for us. This hotel was filled with teams for a local tournament. Really crowded with kids in the pool and at breakfast the next am. The hotel is in need of some remodeling, but still was clean and neat. Again, the air conditioner was at the side of bed, and the noise and flow of air was on your head and chest.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of hotel have highway noise all the time
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tree56LO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Spent one night at the SpringHill Suites in St. Louis Park, MN while in town for a function. The hotel is tucked back off of a main road, next to a highway 394. Despite being next to the highway, it was extremely quiet. Shrubbery along a fence blocked the view as well. The hotel is located in what is called "The West End," which features shopping, dining and entertainment. It felt very safe and was walkable.

The hotel has undergone a recent renovation and it was extremely modern and clean. The front desk staff was very friendly and the trademark Marriott bowl of apples was on the front desk along with a bowl of suckers. There was a small pool and hot tub along with a small fitness room off of the main lobby.

The room was clean and comfortable, but a bit tight with two double beds. There was a desk, mini-fridge, microwave, coffee pot and sink. The free wi-fi worked great and I didn't feel the need to upgrade.

The breakfast area was across the small lobby from the front desk. It had more seating than may hotels I've stayed in. The free morning breakfast was expanded in early July of 2013. It was the best "free morning breakfast buffet" that I have encountered. Along with cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit, oatmeal, various kinds of bread, bagels and English Muffins was a delicious chocolate chip bread which tasted homemade. There were hard boiled eggs, scrambled eggs (with various toppings available like cheese and salsa), and flat poached eggs which were quite tasty. There were two Belgian Waffle irons and the usual accompaniments. Small individual packets of Nutella beckoned to be smeared on toast, waffles or to dunk your fruit into it. Several types of juice, tea, coffee and milk rounded out the buffet. The two drawbacks were that the juice was a bit watered down (came from a machine), and there just wasn't enough seating for a busy Saturday morning. As mentioned earlier, there was more seating than I was accustomed to, but still not enough.

I give the Springhill Suites high marks and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Room with two double beds was a bit tight, but doable for short trips.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiebeTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

This used to be a good place to stay about 5 years ago. It has gone down hill and service is poor. The desk clerk was swearing at her boyfriend d on the phone the last time I was there. The carpets and beds are well worn and need replacing.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meceebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Overall, this was a good hotel. I chose it because of the location (centrally located in St. Louis Park with easy access to highways and the popular Shops at West End) and price (probably exceptional because the public areas were under renovation during my visit; it was announced clearly and the construction never disturbed me). I received a nice corner room with an unusual layout that afforded a separate study. Felt like I rented a full apartment. The room was comfortable though the furnishings and bathroom are relatively current and basic. In terms of amenities, the Internet was free and the breakfast was simple and sufficient. Because of the renovation, the hotel is likely to be better in the future. Recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAC-from-Montreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Newly renovated, nicely done. Staff are super friendly as everyone in Minneapolis area seems to be. Never met a Minnesotan I didn't like. Only thing was we seemed to hear all kinds of bumps and thumps in the night. Hitchcock would have been proud. Good breakfast included, lots of seating area unlike some hotels. Close to the Icon theatre and quaint new shopping area. Really a well designed area with lots of parking and interesting street and area design.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mpt98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Love this place. They were going through a remodel but managed to keep staff with great attitude and service and super clean rooms! Have stayed on Marriott's in 45 states and they had the best morning staff at breakfast I have experienced yet! Maintained a great setup.

My only downside was noisy neighbors and Tweens left unsupervised running up and down halls. I am a parent of a teen and tween and it amazes me from place to place the way parents of traveling teams allow their children to trash hotels, run wild and take over pools while all the parents hang out in the lobby drinking each night. This is not the hotels fault.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blcott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Louis Park
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites Minneapolis - St Louis Park at West End
Homewood Suites Minneapolis - St...
#1 of 7 in Saint Louis Park
625 reviews
0.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Minneapolis West/St. Louis Park
TownePlace Suites Minneapolis We...
#4 of 7 in Saint Louis Park
163 reviews
0.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Minneapolis - Park Place
Doubletree by Hilton Minneapolis...
#2 of 7 in Saint Louis Park
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis (Golden Valley)
2.6 mi away
Minneapolis Marriott West
Minneapolis Marriott West
#5 of 7 in Saint Louis Park
307 reviews
2.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Minneapolis-Minnetonka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springhill Suites Minneapolis West/St. Louis Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springhill Suites Minneapolis West/St. Louis Park

Address: 5901 Wayzata Blvd, Saint Louis Park, MN 55416-1204 (Formerly SpringHill Suites St. Louis Park)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Louis Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Saint Louis Park
Price Range: $92 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Springhill Suites Minneapolis West/St. Louis Park 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Springhill Suites Minneapolis West/St. Louis Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites St. Louis Park Hotel Saint Louis Park
Springhill Suites Saint Louis Park
Springhill Suites Minneapolis West/St. Louis Park Saint Louis Park, MN

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing