We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place - Picked a bad time to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Springhill Suites Minneapolis West/St. Louis Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Very nice staff, price was right, great bed, and nice pool and whirlpool. Location is fairly convenient and there are many good restaurants in the local area. The walls are thin and thus very noisy. Room I stayed in could have used a white glove inspection by the looks of the fan. Was totally overwelmed and overrun by multiple sports teams at the hotel during stay. The staff couldn't keep up with the the breakfast food and there was no room to sit in the dining area. There was a lot of running in the hallways and the security guard couldn't keep up with all the kids.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randall L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 254 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2012

Good hotel for business travel. Friendly staff, clean rooms and up to date. New TVs in the room, wireless internet. Good location with many restaurant choices nearby. Good for business travel in the St. Louis Park area. Not sure I would stay here for personal travel just because it is not really located near any attractions. Somewhat convenient to downtown (15 minutes in the evening). Your typical free breakfast in the morning, with a decent selection. Clean dining area with a friendly attendant. Average work out area with treadmils and cycles. Never used the pool.

Overall, good place to stay

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darrel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

From the point of arrival until we departed, we had a wonderful experience with this property. First and foremost, the staff is very friendly and helpful! It didn't matter whether the maintenance man walked by or the front desk girl checked us in, there was always a genuine smile given. The hotel is clean with nice amenities too. You'll be impressed with the fitness room. It's probably one of the best that I've seen. Free parking, free breakfast, a friendly staff, and clean rooms......what more can you ask for? Nice work SpringHill Suites! Your staff needs to be commended!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdgirl077675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We had a very nice 2 night stay. The location is great, only a couple miles from downtown. There are a lot of stores and restaurants within a couple blocks from the hotel so that is convenient too. The price makes the short drive in worth it! Breakfast was great, lots of options. The pool was nice and warm and my 2 year old LOVED it. The room was clean and nice size for the 3 of us. Wwe had a toddler travel bed so didn't use the sofa bed. W had the 1 king suite. I can see how it would be tight with the sofa bed out, but it was perfect for us.
The only complaint was on the Friday night a high school volleyball team stayed on our floor and it was a big noisy. We also had the room right next to the elevator so heavy traffic. One call to reception and things settled down.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abigail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

This hotel is well-situated near a strip mall/restaurant area that makes staying here for business easy. It has close thruway access, which can get you moving in a hurry, and is a relatively short drive into Minneapolis or any surrounding business areas. It's about a half hour from the airport.

The rooms were clean and the staff I met was friendly. I'm afraid I never ate breakfast there, so I can't comment on that, but again, with it's location it was easy for me to find something else to eat than general 'continental breakfast' fare. The room consists of an initial 'living room' with kitchenette, then (as someone else mentioned) a partial privacy room into the bedroom with a desk at the far end. Simple enough, but if you have more than 2 people you will be cramped. Room had a refridgerator, sink, microwave and coffee pot, but no stove. The fridge is one of those small dorm-room ones. So, this isn't so much a suite as an enhanced room. They also have pay movies on their television, but the prices are outrageous ($17+). Yes, I know all pay movies in hotels are expensive, but that seems to be so high I'm amazed they even offer it.

Another good thing is that their workout area is open 24 hours for guests. You just swipe your room card. I didn't use it, but just the fact that they aren't limiting it is really great!

Couple Issues:

1. There is a mirror on the wall to the bathroom that perfectly aligns with your bed. It's probably great if you're one of those people who like mirrors on the ceiling, but otherwise it's just kinda creepy. I don't necessarily like seeing myself flopped on the bed watching TV.

2. Their internet is free, but it is terrible. I even had the 'VIP High Speed' access, and it was completely abysmal. When I first logged on, it was slow, then it completely stopped. They must have rebooted the router because I was kicked off and reconnected. Even then, it went for about 15 minutes and then became so slow as to be useless. How anyone would do work in this environment is beyond me.

Frankly, while this hotel is acceptable, you have better options in this area. I really enjoyed my stay across the way at Holiday Inn Express, and there's a Doubletree right around the corner from this hotel. You won't go wrong to stay here, but you won't really love it either.

Room Tip: As you stand in front of the hotel, there is a section to your right angled away from the main build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank riallus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

If you are a fan of the higher end Marriott furnishings and open floor plan suites like those often found at Residence Inns, Homewood Suites, and Garden Inns, you may be disappointed with this facility. Hard, older spring mattresses, cramped double queen "suites," and dated furnishings will lead us to look elsewhere on our return visits to the area. Keep in mind that the rates are rather low at approx one ten vs. one fifty'ish as the previously mentioned facilities.

The staff was cordial but not overly friendly. They were able to provide the crib and first floor unit as requested.

The room was clean but the layout was questionable with less than two feet of space between the AC and the second queen bed. Given the close proximity of the bed to the AC and the loud AC, sleeping in that bed was a challenge. Furthermore, the closet at the foot of the bed created another in passable tight spot when opening the closet door.

The bathroom was clean but the sink drained slowly and the CFL lighting in the stool room was barely acceptable. The water pressure and temperature were perfect.

The "kitchenette" is misleading. You get a stainless sink, microwave, and mini fridge. No utensils, counter space, stove top or oven. Do not expect to cook or prepare food in this space. Opposite of the "kitchenette" and sharing this space is a typical desk and chair that cannot be occupied while another person is standing at the sink, fridge, or microwave.

The pool and hot tub area were clean, and adequately heated with acceptable levels of chlorine. Cudos for keeping the area open until 11pm.

Breakfast was as expected with cereals, bagels, fruits, yogurt, eggs, sausage, and a waffle station. Various juices along with coffee, tea, and milk are also provided. Each of our family of four found a little something to satisfy our breakfast needs.

Overall this place is a good value as we can overlook the room layout problems but the poor nights sleep on the hard spring mattress eliminates the potential for a repeat visit.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bch7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

This is a very well appointed place with very courteous staff and good sized rooms. The breakfast is very pukka also with a range of proper food (ie not like many of the Days Inn type cereal, milk, coffee and that's your lot) including some Kosher items. I was very satisfied overall and would certainly return here, as well as recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoyalSilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Louis Park
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites Minneapolis - St Louis Park at West End
Homewood Suites Minneapolis - St...
#1 of 7 in Saint Louis Park
626 reviews
0.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Minneapolis West/St. Louis Park
TownePlace Suites Minneapolis We...
#4 of 7 in Saint Louis Park
163 reviews
0.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Minneapolis - Park Place
Doubletree by Hilton Minneapolis...
#2 of 7 in Saint Louis Park
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis (Golden Valley)
2.6 mi away
Minneapolis Marriott West
Minneapolis Marriott West
#5 of 7 in Saint Louis Park
307 reviews
2.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Minneapolis-Minnetonka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springhill Suites Minneapolis West/St. Louis Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springhill Suites Minneapolis West/St. Louis Park

Address: 5901 Wayzata Blvd, Saint Louis Park, MN 55416-1204 (Formerly SpringHill Suites St. Louis Park)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Louis Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Saint Louis Park
Price Range: $92 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Springhill Suites Minneapolis West/St. Louis Park 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Springhill Suites Minneapolis West/St. Louis Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites St. Louis Park Hotel Saint Louis Park
Springhill Suites Saint Louis Park
Springhill Suites Minneapolis West/St. Louis Park Saint Louis Park, MN

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing