We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like the other Crave locations, is good but not great”
Review of Crave

Crave
Reserve with OpenTable
Crave is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Sushi, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Park Place and 16th
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
1,676 reviews
880 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 677 helpful votes
“Like the other Crave locations, is good but not great”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This should be a great place to go if you like sushi but your counterparts do not. There is an extensive menu of both traditional fare and sushi. The problem is the sushi is just not great. Don't get me wrong, its perfectly fine, just not great. If I were just eating sushi, I'd head across the street to Raku. I've been to this location a dozen times now and have sampled many of the other menu items. The best is probably the crab crusted filet on the dinner menu. Quite good. The bar is usually busy for happy hour and they have a nice back room for large parties. Service is usually fine.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lucycan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    77
    46
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
440 reviews
298 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“What an interesting find - local ingredients, artfully prepared”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I went there for dinner with a business colleague, on the suggestion of the Doubletree staff and the lure of a free appetizer with the coupon they gave us. The place was very busy on a Wednesday night, always a good sign. We were seated promptly in the bar area at a high side table. The wines and beers on offer were nicely chosen, not the usual stuff, with a good mix of regions and styles represented. My colleague ordered a local IPA draft beer, and I had a nice glass of wine while we considered the menu. We started with the lamb meatballs, five succulent spheres with wedges of pita bread and sriracha chili sauce. They were offering some special entrees that benefitted local service agencies, so I ordered a mushroom meat loaf that was perfectly baked, soft and juicy, with a layer of wild mushrooms in a brown sauce. My colleague had a beef burger that was anything but ordinary, with great flavor and a toasty bun. We skipped dessert because we had plenty of food (plus a big lunch too).
It was good value overall. Though some of the entrees were priced on the higher end, we felt that it was worth the price paid. (Of course, the free appetizer helped.) Get there for happy hour if you can, when appetizers and some drinks are marked down by about half their regular price.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
140 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Big selection of the menu and ambiance make this choice a no-brainer. Brittany, our server, handled our party of ten like a pro. Cocktails were excellent, great appetizers, and most of us ordered steaks which were perfect: filet and rib-eye. Sushi choices were abundant as well. Complimentary cake and ice cream was served for the birthday gal in our party.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank PlainJane23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“LOVE this place!”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This restaurant is one of the main drivers why I stay in St Louis Park when I travel to Minnie. The food is always good, the ambiance is casual chic and the people watching is otherworldly :)

Highly recommended

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank BobLeeSwagger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“2 Visits, Both Great”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I had lunch and dinner her on my recent business visit. The staff was professional and attentive without being annoying.

It has an interesting menu, and everything from the sliders to the steak were well prepared. They also have sushi, and fun appetizer menu and happy hour.

I look forward to my next visit.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank 005Mustang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crave also viewed

Saint Louis Park, MN
 
Saint Louis Park, MN
Saint Louis Park, MN
 

Been to Crave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing