We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only place in town, but it's nice”
Review of Super 8 St. James

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 St. James
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint James
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Having grown up in this town, I return a few times a year and often stay here to relieve crowding at my Mom's. She also has started a tradition of getting several rooms for all of us to stay the week before she heads south for the winter. We eat and drink and play in the pool. They also have an adjacent room with tables and board games.

The rooms are nice, and there are a variety of suites and larger rooms. The hot tub is large, but the pool not so much.

For the most part, our stays have been comfortable and uneventful, but I have had a few issues. One beef I have is that they let people reserve the only common area(other than the lobby)that the motel has. More than once we have had to relocate our own celebration because someone took over the whole room. There is no reason to need this whole room. This is a common area for all guests and if you need a private room for your function reserve the party rooms at one of the local establishments.

The other beef I have is with the way management responded after a more serious incident we had a few years back regarding a drunk guest and a dog running loose in the building. I won't go into details now, but this experience was serious enough that we complained to management, and when that didn't suffice I called one of the owners directly(small town, everyone knows everyone). My sister also called the national corporate number to complain. I think my Mom eventually got a call from someone to apologize or somehow address the issue, but nothing ever came from anything else, and my sister never heard back from corporate, even though they "value your opinion and take every complaint seriously".

The biggest disappointment for me was that despite this train wreck of a stay not one dime of the 3 or 4 rooms we had booked was refunded. I've stayed places where they refunded my entire night's fee for a lessor complaint, and after having a bad experience at a Holiday Inn the General manager invited us back on his dime, all expenses paid, including food.

Here, nothing. From the owner, from management, from corporate. Nada. Will it stop us from staying here again? No, largely because it's the only place in town, and the next closest place is 15 miles away, and overall our experiences have been good. But again, it's how you respond to the bad things that set you apart. In that respect they failed. This town is big enough to support another chain motel, an Americinn or Holiday Inn Express. This is an underserved market, and I hope one day someone else does come in and build a nice place with a big pool/entertainment area.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morgman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela R, General Manager at Super 8 St. James, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2012

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete a review on Trip Advisor. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

If I can provide any assistance, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 507-375-4708.


Sincerely,
Angela Rathman
General Manager
Super 8 St. James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 218 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2012

The receptionist was busy, but most helpful. My room was on the second floor and on one end, thus it was quiet--a real treat. The room was clean and orderly. It is located right along a major highway, but the noise was not a big problem at that time. All in all it was a pleasant stay. Thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Kathleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 27, 2012

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to write a response regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Again, thank you for completing our survey and if I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 507-375-4708.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Another weekend visit with family in Mtn. Lake nearby so we returned to this Super 8. This time, we used our Corporate Lodging card and chose a downstairs regular room vs. the upstairs suite.

The price was right and the rooms are clean. There was plenty of room to park our 40' fifth-wheel next door.

We did not eat the breakfast at the hotel, but we DID enjoy a great breakfast in town at the Coffee shop.

St. James is a historic railroad town and this hotel is a great choice when in the area. We would return.

Room Tip: NO elevator for 2nd floor rooms. Wood floors in the entire building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Candace R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela R, General Manager at Super 8 St. James, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2012

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to tell us about your recent stay at our hotel. I also love the picture you posted of the room you stayed in. Thank you!

As a valued guest, your feedback is very important to us and I can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We know you have a choice in hotels and we are delighted that you chose ours. We hope to see you again!

Again, thank you for completing this online Trip Advisor review for our hotel. If I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 507-375-4708.


Sincerely,
Angela Rathman
General Manager
Super 8 St. James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

VERY nice surprise ....wasn't expecting anything special. Just needed a clean room for a 2 day stay to visit family. The room was bigger than expected, offered a corner fireplace, nice size desk and large bathroom.

Up stairs room with no elevator was a bit of a pain, but overall, we were pleased. We used the AARP discount for $65 rate and will stay here vs. Windom Super 8 for our next visit to the area.

Room Tip: Ask for queen suite upstairs - rooms are HUGE ...:-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candace R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Stopped here because of Price $40.00 cheaper . Room was clean & beds comfortable.
Ate at a hometown resturant. Good food.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lakestravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

We were surprised by how large and nice the room was. We were only here one night but would have gladly stayed longer if time permitted.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank JohnB772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2011

I love staying at this super 8 they take care of everything. Jessica is the best you are lucky to have her as an employee!!!!!! We have stayed here over 15 days since December 2010.

Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
2  Thank vwbug69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint James
12.1 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Madelia
22.1 mi away
Super 8 Fairmont
Super 8 Fairmont
#2 of 4 in Fairmont
206 reviews
21.9 mi away
Quality Inn Fairmont
Quality Inn Fairmont
#3 of 4 in Fairmont
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Sleepy Eye
24.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham New Ulm
21.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Fairmont
Hampton Inn Fairmont
#1 of 4 in Fairmont
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 St. James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 St. James

Address: 1210 Heckman Ct, Saint James, MN 56081-8702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint James
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint James
Price Range: $61 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 St. James 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Super 8 Saint James hotel is located off Minnesota Highway 60, just minutes from downtown. Enjoy close proximity to area attractions and activities, including swimming, fishing, golfing and biking.Our pet-friendly St. James, MN, hotel offers convenient amenities that will save you valuable time. Connect to free Wi-Fi in the privacy of your hotel room or in our business center. Our comfortable rooms include a microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker and hair dryer. Enjoy access to guest laundry facilities, heated indoor pool, spa and outdoor patio. If you need to unwind after a long drive, book one of our Jacuzzi or fireplace suites. We also provide handicapped-accessible rooms and free large-vehicle parking. Begin your morning with free SuperStart continental breakfast, then grab a coffee for the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Super 8 St. James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel - St. James Hotel Saint James
Super 8 Saint James
Super Eight Saint James
Saint James Super Eight
Saint James Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing