We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lippy desk clerk”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express St. Cloud
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Saint Cloud
Certificate of Excellence
Okoboji, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lippy desk clerk”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

After a few minutes of surly questions while trying to make a reservation, from a desk clerk with a giant attitude... I decided there are other places to stay. I think her name was ALEX. it's the first HIE that refused to take the Priority Club number.
I would stay in a Sears tent before staying here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerri B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Cloud, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
MikeT,

I apologize your experience making a reservation was unsatisfactory. I will take steps to ensure this doesn't happen again. Please accept my sincerest apology, I have also sent a private message to you.

Kerri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    63
    24
    12
    11
See reviews for
71
40
15
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

The location was conveniently right off expressway. A bit isolated with respect to restaurants, but not far of a drive to get to more choices.

The room was a bit more spacious than many in this brand/class, it was clean and the bed comfortable. The heater/air conditioner was whisper quiet on the low fan setting - very nice. I never heard anything from outside my room.

The front desk was efficient and courteous.

Overall, virtually everything that one could want in a hotel for comfort and good sleeping.

The breakfast bar for the one morning that I was there was a bit slow getting completely set up, which caused a problem for me because I had an early appointment. Other HI Express hotels that I have experienced generally handle this aspect better. (The young lady handling setup was inefficient, just one thing in her hand as she walked out each time - she could use more training).

My only gripe was that the breakfast room had one garbage can (that I found), at it was still full (and I mean FULL) from the previous day's breakfast.

Nevertheless, I would return.

Room Tip: If you like second floor rooms, but hate elevators, there are stairs in the lobby that make for a co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SGillinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerri B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Cloud, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
SGillinois,

Thank you so much for writing a review on Trip Advisor. Wow! "Nearly flawless in achieving brand expectation" We strive to give every guest the best expierence possible during their stay. We will continue training our breakfast attendant to meet guest expectations. Again, thank you for the review and we will see you soon!

Kerri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pella, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I have stayed at various hotels in St Cloud, this is the best one I have stayed at. Room was clean, beds comfortable and the breakfast in the morning was excellent. I will stay again if I am in St Cloud again. The only suggestion I have is for the front desk staff to have more help. Despite being short handed they never looked stressed or annoyed

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank galwaywren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerri B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Cloud, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Galwaywren,

We are happy to hear this was the best hotel in St Cloud you have stayed at. Finding a very clean room, comfortable bed and an excellant breakfast. We look forward to your next visit. Thank you again for the review on Trip Advisor.

Kerri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert Lea, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I don’t normally post reviews, but after my recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express I felt compelled to do so. My daughter and I were in town to visit the university where she is thinking about attending college. Personally, I do not know much about the area and thought this was an important “fact finding mission” about where I was sending my only daughter. I must say it was a very pleasant experience that made me confident me that the people in the area look out for one another. My check-in went smoothly and I was even given an SCSU rate when the front desk staff inquired into the reason for my stay. Rooms were well kept and breakfast was what one would expect. When I returned from dinner at RJ I was approached by a group of very dirty individuals selling “junk” off a flat bed trailer. This did not make me feel safe at this hotel. Concerned, I informed the desk staff whom immediately took action to take care of the situation to have them removed. For this reason, I will continue to stay at the Holiday Inn Express when I visit my daughter at SCSU and I’m secure in the fact that the hotel will take action when I feel that safety is being jeopardized.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duckhunter64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerri B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Cloud, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
duckhunter64,

Thank you for writing a review regarding the encounter you had in our parking lot. I am so happy staff took immediate steps to ensure safety for all guests. We look forward to your return during your daughters college days.

Again, thank you for the review.
Kerri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Martin, Minnesota, United States
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We have an all staff meeting every 4 months. We have 6 of our field staff stay at this hotel. The service is great and we had an after work get together in their breakfast room. It worked great for a get together for about 25 people.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerri B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Cloud, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
LoriD,

I am happy to hear you received great service and the breakfast bar fit your needs. As always, let us know if we can make it better. Thank you for writing a review on Trip Advisor and we'll see you in four months!

Kerri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite at this hotel. The bed was comfortable, and the room was extremely clean. Beyond that, it wasn't that great. The furniture and decor seems VERY old. The 1 bedroom suite didn't seem much larger than a standard room (like they just added a wall in the middle). The living room area was very dark, and every lighting fixture seemed to have a different color bulb (some seemed like bug lights). Proper lighting seems like such a cheap way to make a room seem nicer...just use the normal type of bulbs that people would use in their home (not in a bug light).

Checking in took forever. They were not busy, but the front desk clerk took a very long time to check us in. It was hard getting a luggage cart, and at one point saw a hotel worker using one to haul a bucket and tools. The complimentary breakfast was a nice amenity, but I agree with other reviewers that they need to staff this with two people, and not just one. There was one woman working to refill everything, and she seemed extremely overwhelmed. At one point, something with the juice machine broke, and she was so angry and frustrated that she literally threw the piece across the counter. I felt bad that she was overwhelmed, but I was also surprised that she'd behave that way in front of guests.

Overall, I'd say this place has the potential to be a lot better if some of the employees just cared about doing their job better. We'll probably try a different hotel next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunny1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerri B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Cloud, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Sunny1941,

We are happy to hear you found your room extremely clean. We are so excited that our remodel has begun and includes the items you mentioned; new furnishings, carpet, wall treatments, lighting and a new breakfast bar/lounge area. We will have a completely new look when it is completed!

However, I am very disappointed in the way the breakfast bar staff dealt with the juice machine problem, please accept my sincerest apology. I would encourage you to stay with us the next time your in town so we may show you we truely care about our guests stay.

Kerri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My family and I spent a night here while vacationing in the St. Cloud area. The front desk crew were friendly & very accomodating. The room was clean and comfortable which is what I expected after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor. The morning breakfast buffet was hot & ready and thankfully the coffee was plentiful. The location was perfect for getting to local resturants and the the interstate for our drive to the Twin Cities the next morning. The next time I'm in St. Cloud I will stay here for sure.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerri B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Cloud, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Tom L,

I am glad to hear we lived up to the reviews for cleanliness, friendliness and being accomodating! We believe our location is perfect, easy to access and close enough to central St Cloud. Thank you for making our hotel your location of choice.

Kerri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Cloud hotels
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Cloud
4.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 19 in Saint Cloud
202 reviews
4.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Cloud West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites St Cloud
Hampton Inn & Suites St Cloud
#2 of 19 in Saint Cloud
348 reviews
5.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton St Cloud
4.4 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel St Cloud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express St. Cloud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express St. Cloud

Property: Holiday Inn Express St. Cloud
Address: 4322 Clearwater Rd, Saint Cloud, MN 56301-9630
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Cloud
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Saint Cloud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express St. Cloud 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... to the Holiday Inn Express-St. Cloud! As a Quality Excellence Award Winning hotel the Holiday Inn Express-St. Cloud offers services and amenities to accommodate every traveler. Be sure to take advantage of the free Continental Deluxe Breakfast Bar and 3 pools, which include a swimming pool, wading pool and whirlpool. The 24 hour fitness center and High Speed Internet ready business center are also an added bonus to your stay. All tastefully appointed guest rooms feature a refrigerator, coffee maker, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, and two-line speakerphones with data ports. All guest rooms are equipped with High Speed Internet access. King, Jacuzzi, and Executive Suites feature Kitchenettes and are certain to provide for you and your family's needs. Extended stay suites featuring full kitchens are also available. Stay Smart. Stay at the Holiday Inn Express. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express St. Cloud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express St. Cloud Hotel Saint Cloud
Holiday Inn Saint Cloud
Saint Cloud Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing