We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pick your own Perfection!”
Review of Mongo's Grill

Mongo's Grill
Ranked #8 of 165 Restaurants in Saint Cloud
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Asian, Mongolian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Pick your own Perfection!”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Mongo's is the ideal place to eat if you are a hearty or a picky eater! You choose what ingredients, spices, and seasonings you add to your own personal stir fry. There are a minimum of 10 kinds of meat, over 30 types of vegetables, and 10+ seasonings and sauces. You then get to add rice, noodles, and even a fried egg.

The size of the bowls are quite deceiving...I would recommend going to Mongo's for lunch where you can choose the one-bowl option. Dinner is much more expensive. There is even an optional salad bar that you can purchase.

One final perk, the staff! Watching the staff grill your food will bring a smile to your face...they certainly understand good customer service and still have fun!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank jaynegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    47
    12
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
73 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Unique, but not great.”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I'm surprised to see this ranked #2 in St. Cloud. Well it is oftentimes crowded, so I guess there are a lot of fans.
The concept is cool, but I'm not a big fan of "Troughs" (open buffet-type dining). I guess the idea of germy unwashed hands & sneezing people touching all the food before me kinda kills my appetite.
I did give it a shot twice though. You pile up food on a plate like a salad bar [you pay per plate], then bring the uncooked meats, vegetables, sauces, etc. to the community cooks who cook it in front of the group of patrons & then want tips. No matter how high you pile your plate it seems to be a third the amount when you get it back. So picking the ingredients yourself kind of makes you responsible for the flavor... It's rather tough to do successfully -at least the first several times I imagine. Maybe with practice & a strong immune system this place would be higher on my list, but it's NOT #2 in St. Cloud by a longshot!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
411 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Cheap and okay”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Good place for a "select what you want" type of meal. The satff appeared a little bored and wasted a lot of food while I was there, dropping raw eggs and bowls of rice on the floor. I get it that they are trying to impress customers but to waste food is a sacrilege when there are millions who are starving in the world and families depending on food pantries here in the USA.

My server was very polite and attentive.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stewart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Place to Eat”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

This was good food and a fun place to eat. You get a lot of food for your money with many choices to put into your bowl. They add sides as many as you want. The employees were upbeat and happy. Other customers were enjoying their meal. If you like these grills, this is a good one.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rz9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent....even for people with allergies:)”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

When we first went to Mongo's as a family we were a bit sceptical because my sister has a tree nut allergy, and we were worried about cross-contamination. All we had to do wastell our server about the allergy and she went through and got new oils, veggies, meats, and noodles, to make sure there was no cross-contamination. They even scraped the grill sparkling clean to reduce risk. And the food was to die for.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 14bfaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mongo's Grill also viewed

 

Been to Mongo's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing